الجمعة, 1 يونيو 2018

الإجازة هي كل ما نفكر فيه الآن

 

نقدم لك: ثروتك

ثروتك هو موجز من إنتربرايز مخصص لك: لقيادات الشركات ورواد الأعمال والمطورين العقاريين الذين يعرفون أن الوقت لا يعني المال، ولكن الوقت والمال مواد أولية للأمور الأهم في الحياة وعلى رأسها عائلتك.

مرة واحدة في كل شهر، بالشراكة مع أصدقائنا في قطاع إدارة الثروات بالبنك التجاري الدولي CIB Wealth، سنقدم لك مجموعة مختارة من الأفكار والنصائح والقصص الملهمة، والتي ستساعدك على الاستفادة من وقتك بالقدر الأكبر، وتحسين ثروتك، وبناء حياة أفضل مع من تحب.

وكما هو الحال دائما، يسعدنا الاستماع إلى قرائنا. أرسل لنا أفكار لقصص، أو ملحوظات، أو نصائح، أو اقتراحات، على البريد الإلكتروني editorial@enterprise.press .

حياتك

الحر مع الصيام استنفد طاقتنا بالكامل قبل أن ينتصف شهر رمضان. وكل ما نفكر فيه الآن هو الإجازة. بالنسبة للبعض، الصيف في مصر لا يكتمل سوى بقضاء إجازة طويلة في الساحل. بالنسبة لمن يرغبون في تجنب النزوح الجماعي إلى الساحل الشمالي بعد نهاية رمضان، يمكنهم التفكير في قضاء إجازتهم بالخارج. إذا كنت من تلك المجموعة الأخيرة، عليك بدء التخطيط لرحلتك من الآن.

ولكن السؤال الأهم قبل السفر أين ستشاهد كأس العالم. سواء كنت ستسافر أو ستبقى في المنزل هذا الصيف. الجميع متحمس لمشاهدة مصر في كأس العالم بعد غياب 28 عاما، رغم القلق الشديد من مستوى المنتخب واحتمالية غياب صلاح عن أولى المباريات. وإلى جانب مصر، تظل ألمانيا والبرازيل والأرجنتين في قائمة المنتخبات المفضلة لكثير منا في إنتربرايز، وحتى أيام مضت كانت إسبانيا ضمن تلك القائمة. تنطلق البطولة بمباراة الافتتاح يوم 14 يونيو بين روسيا صاحبة الأرض والسعودية. ويلعب المنتخب المصري أولى مبارياته في اليوم التالي أمام أوروجواي في الساعة الثانية ظهرا بتوقيت القاهرة. اضغط هنا للاطلاع على جدول المباريات بالكامل.

وبالنسبة للمحظوظين المسافرين إلى روسيا لحضور البطولة، اسألوا جيدا عن المطاعم الروسية التي ترغبون في زيارتها، إذ كشفت وكالة رويترز أن عددا كبيرا من المطاعم في روسيا أدخلت العديد من التقييمات الإيجابية لها على الإنترنت من خلال حسابات مزيفة. يمكنكم أيضا الاطلاع على الصفحة التي خصصتها وزارة الخارجية على موقعها الرسمي للمشجعين المصريين المتوجهين إلى روسيا.

هل تريد السفر ولم تقرر بعد أين تذهب؟ صحيفة الجارديان وضعت لك قائمة شاملة بأفضل وجهات السفر لعام 2018. محبو المطاعم والسهر والحفلات عليهم زيارة العاصمة الجورجية تبليسي، حيث نجحت الثقافة المعاصرة للمدينة في تشكيل سمعتها كوجهة مثيرة لمحبي الحفلات الصاخبة. وفي القائمة أيضا، باريس ومالطا والكثير من الجزر اليونانية. هل ما زلت مترددا؟ أجب على هذا الاختبار التفاعلي من واشنطن بوست ليساعدك على تحديد مكان إجازتك القادمة.

إذا كانت إجازتك قصيرة أو تريد القيام بزيارات خاطفة لأكثر من مدينة، اقرأ هذه السلسلة التي أعدتها نيويورك تايمز بعنوان “36 ساعة”، وتقدم لك أهم ما يمكن أن تفعله خلال 36 ساعة فقط في عدد من المدن حول العالم ومن بينها لشبونة (البرتغال) وبودابست (المجر) وأوكلاند (نيوزيلندا)، وجوهانسبرج (جنوب أفريقيا) وساو باولو (البرازيل) وسونوما كاونتي بولاية كاليفورنيا الأمريكية.

وإذا كنت تريد قضاء إجازتك في مصر، وتتجنب في نفس الوقت زحام الساحل ودهب، اذهب بعيدا إلى الوجهات السياحية الأقل شعبية بين المصريين في هذا الوقت من العام، مثل مرسى علم التي تحظى بسمعة عالمية رائعة، إذ كان شاطئ شرم اللولي ضمن أفضل 25 شاطئ حول العالم في اختيارات المسافرين لعام 2018 على موقع TripAdvisor . أما موقع Lonely Planet فاستعرض بعض أفضل مواقع الغوص في مرسى علم والتي تعد ضمن الأفضل في العالم إلى جانب العديد من الأنشطة الأخرى التي يمكن الاستمتاع بها في مرسى علم. وبالطبع هناك أيضا الفيوم بمعالمها المتنوعة. ولكن مع ارتفاع درجات الحرارة ننصحك بالتوجه شرقا نحو رأس سدر التي لا تزال وجهة غير مزدحمة سواء بالسياحة المحلية أو الأجنبية.

إذا كنت مثلنا تهوي القيادة ولكنك لا تستطيع الاستمتاع بتلك الهواية في شوارع القاهرة، فربما تكون إجازتك القادمة هي رحلة على الطريق. عشاق القيادة يعرفون أن ليس كل الطرق متشابهة وكل طريق يحتاج لسيارة تناسبه. أعدت بلومبرج قائمة لأفضل 10 رحلات تقضيها على الطريق هذا الصيف، وأفضل سيارة تناسب كل رحلة منهم. من أستراليا إلى الصين، ومن شمال غرب المحيط الهادئ في أمريكا إلى موناكو، هناك طريق وهناك سيارة تناسب كل ذوق.

وقبل أن تبدأ إجازتك فلابد أن يكون لديك عددا من التطبيقات التي تساعدك في التعامل مع التفاصيل الصغيرة التي ستقابلها في رحلتك. وتقدم “سي إن إن” قائمة بتطبيقات السفر تتناول كل شيء من تلك التي تساعدك على حزم أمتعتك (Packpoint ) وحتى التطبيق الأكثر شهرة (Airbnb ). ومن بين التطبيقات الهامة التي لفتت انتباهنا ما يلي:

  • WiFi Map : وكما هو واضح من الاسم، فهذا البرنامج يوجهك إلى أقرب نقطة بها شبكة اتصال لاسلكية بالإنترنت. ويمكن استخدام التطبيق في حالة عدم توفر اتصال بالإنترنت.
  • Dayuse.com : ستجد هذا التطبيق مفيدا لك إذا كنت بحاجة إلى حجز غرفة في فندق لبضع ساعات خلال النهار.
  • XE Currency : هذا التطبيق يجعلك على اطلاع دائم على آخر أسعار صرف العملات الأجنبية، والتي يتم تحديثها بصورة متواصلة.
  • AccuWeather : يتيح لك هذا البرنامج معرفة التوقعات الخاصة بالطقس في منطقتك، والتي يتم تحديثها تلقائيا كل دقيقة.
  • SitOrSquat : دعونا نقول بأن أحد الأشخاص قام بتصميم تطبيق يساعدك على العثور على أقرب حمام، وهي نفس الفكرة التي تحدث عنها جورج كوستانزا في مسلسل “Curb Your Enthusiasm “. ولعل هذا التطبيق هو الأكثر فائدة في القائمة.

يمكنك الآن تلبية رغبتك القديمة والذهاب لرؤية تايتانيك. “أوشن جيت”، وهي شركة لاستكشاف أعماق البحار، ستتيح الفرصة لـ 54 سائحا بالانضمام إلى رحلاتها الخاصة بالغوص في أعماق البحار حتى عمق 4000 متر تحت الماء للمساعدة في بناء نموذج ثلاثي الأبعاد لسفينة تايتانيك، وذلك باستخدام كاميرات عالية الدقة وتقنية الليزر والسونار. حطام السفينة الشهيرة، والذي يقبع في قاع المحيط منذ عام 1912، ليس عامل الجذب الوحيد، فعشاق التاريخ الخاص بحقبة الحرب العالمية الثانية سيتمكنون من القيام بجولة لمشاهدة بعض حطام السفن الشهيرة في تلك الفترة.

هل تود معرفة سعر التذكرة؟ 100 ألف دولار، وفقا لمقطع فيديو بمجلة “إيكونوميست” (شاهد 2:01 دقيقة).

هل يمكن أن نرى نسخة أخرى من طائرة الكونكورد ونجرب السفر على متنها؟ يبدو أن إحدى الشركات الناشئة واسمها “Boom Technology “، ويقع مقرها في مدينة “دنفر” بولاية كولورادو الأمريكية على بعد عام واحد من البدء في اختبارها لطائرة “Boom ” الأسرع من الصوت، بعد العمل على نموذج يبلغ ثلث الحجم الأصلي ويطلق عليه “Baby Boom “. ومن المتوقع إجراء اختبارات الاعتماد في غضون ثلاث سنوات وكل شيء يسير حسب ما هو مخطط له، ويمكن لطائرة الركاب الأسرع من الصوت أن تبدأ رحلاتها لنقل الركاب أواخر عام 2023، وفقا لما ذكرته ناشونال جيوجرافيك.

ستأخذك الرحلة من نيويورك إلى لندن في أقل من ثلاث ساعات وربع الساعة، في حين تستغرق الرحلة من سان فرانسيسكو إلى طوكيو خمس ساعات ونصف فقط، أي أقل من الرقم الحالي وهو 11 ساعة. وسيمكن للطائرة أن تحمل ما يصل إلى 55 راكبا وتصميمها الداخلي يحتوي على صفوف من مقعد واحد في كل جانب من جانبي الممر مع وجود أماكن تحت المقعد لوضع الحقائب المحمولة.

وقد اكتسبت هذه الطائرات النفاثة، والتي تصل قيمتها إلى 200 مليون دولار، اهتماما تجاريا من شركات الطيران الكبيرة، ومن بينها “فيرجن أتلانتيك”، وقدمت تلك الشركات عروض شراء لـ 76 طائرة.

ولكن هل تنجح الطائرات الأسرع من الصوت هذه المرة؟ من ناحية، هناك تحسن في التقنية الخاصة ببناء تلك الطائرات (والتي يحظر طيرانها بالولايات المتحدة). وإلى جانب شركة “Boom Technology “، فإن كلا من وكالة ناسا وشركة لوكهيد مارتن تعكفان على تطوير طرازات خاصة بهما من الطائرات الأسرع من الصوت والتي ستقلل إلى حد كبير من الصوت المرتفع لتلك الطائرات. وكانت تلك الأصوات المرتفعة هي سبب منع تلك الرحلات التجارية لطائرة الكونكورد بالولايات المتحدة، كما أن تكلفة التصنيع تحسنت بشكل كبير. يمكنك مشاهدة هذا الفيديو الذي تقدمه “Vox ” لمعرفة سبب توقف صناعة طائرات الكونكورد (شاهد 10:22 دقيقة).

أهم 5 أخبار خلال شهر مايو

شملت الموضوعات الخمسة الأكثر أهمية خلال مايو ما يلي:

وقتك

في السينما: إنه موسم الصيف المذهل، وآلة هوليوود لإعادة التدوير تعمل بكامل طاقتها، وفقا لقائمة أعدها موقع “Esquire “. يتواصل الاتجاه لتحويل الأفلام الخاصة بممثلين إلى أفلام يتكون طاقم التمثيل بها من سيدات، وذلك مع فيلم “Ocean 8 “. ويشارك في الفيلم الذي سيعرض في يونيو نجمات تمثيل مثل ساندرا بولوك وكيت بلانشيت وآن هاثاواي وريهانا وآخرين. بخلاف النسخة الأولى من الفيلم، فنحن لم نكن راضين عن أداء آخر فيلمين من سلسلة أفلام “Ocean “. لذا نأمل هنا أن يكون الأداء في الفيلم الجديد جيدا (على الرغم من أنهم لا يستطيعون أبدا استبدال الراحل بيرني ماك). نحن متحمسون أيضا لمشاهدة فيلم الكرتون “Incredibles 2 ” (مشاهدة المقطع الدعائي 2:16 دقيقة). كان الجزء الأول من الفيلم واحدا من أكثر أفلام شركة “بيكسار” إمتاعا، لذلك نحن متأكدون أن أطفالك سيتمتعون به. ومن يستطيع أن يقول لا إلى جزء آخر من فيلم “Jurassic Park “؟

أما بالنسبة لأولئك الذين لديهم أذواق أكثر نضجا، فيمكنهم الاطلاع على الملخص الذي قدمه موقع “Vox ” لبعض المقاطع من الأفلام التي أحدثت ضجة كبيرة في مهرجان كان السينمائي. ومن أبرز تلك الأفلام فيلم الكوميديا “BlackkKlansman ” للمخرج سبايك لي، وفيلم “The House That Jack Built ” للمخرج لارس فون ترير.

أموالك

هل تنفق كثيرا؟ يبدو أن هذا بسبب الطقس.. ومن الأفضل أن تتبع خطى أبنائك. خلافا للاعتقاد الشائع، يمكن أن يكون الشباب أكثر وعيا بالمال من الأشخاص الأكبر سنا، إذ نشرت صحيفة الإندبندنت تقريرا قالت فيه إنه على الرغم من الادعاءات التي تشير إلى أن جيل الألفية غير مبال عندما يتعلق الأمر بعاداته في الإنفاق، فإن الأبحاث أظهرت أن المنتمين لهذا الجيل هم أكثر حكمة من آبائهم عندما يتعلق الأمر بقضاء الأوقات خارج المنزل. وقالت الصحيفة إن إحدى الدراسات توصلت إلى أن متوسط إنفاق الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 18 و34 عاما لقضاء ليلة خارج المنزل يبلغ نحو 27.14 جنيه إسترليني، فيما يبلغ متوسط إنفاق من تتراوح أعمارهم بين 55 إلى 64 عاما 51.88 جنيه إسترليني لقضاء نفس الغرض. ومع ذلك، فإن هذا الاتجاه لا يبدو قائما عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتواصل الاجتماعي خلال الصيف، فقد وجدت الدراسات أن المنتمين إلى جيل الألفية يميلون إلى إنفاق ما يتجاوز متوسط ميزانياتهم، إذ يسافرون في كثير من الأحيان ويحضرون فعاليات أكثر مما يفعلون خلال الشتاء. (شاهد 1:02 دقيقة)

خطط لعطلة صيف من دون ديون: نحن نكره أن نكون كالصغار المزعجين، ولكننا لن نتناول تقريرا حول الإنفاق ما لم نقدم النصائح حول كيفية قضاء إجازة خالية من الديون، والفضل في ذلك يرجع إلى مستشار التخطيط المالي أندرو هاوسر. وإليك بعض النصائح التي قدمها:

  • يجب أن يكون لديك ميزانية: وهو الأمر الأكثر وضوحا من أي شيء آخر. فالتحذير الكبير الذي وجهه هو عدم اقتراض الديون، فليست هناك ثمة إجازة تستحق ذلك. وفي حال كانت نفقات الرحلة كثيرة، فعليك أن تفكر في تقليص إنفاقك على الكماليات بما في ذلك تناول الطعام في الخارج والتسوق قبل السفر.
  • ضع في اعتبارك التكاليف الإضافية المفاجأة، وتشمل تلك المصاريف التكلفة الإضافية لمزيد من الليالي في الفندق، وتكلفة استخدام الإنترنت. يتعين عليك أيضا حجز رحلاتك الجوية خارج أوقات الذروة لتمتع بأسعار أقل للتذاكر.
  • اهتم بمنزلك في أوقات غيابك: ربما يتعين عليك الاستعانة بأحد الأصدقاء أو أشخاص من الأسرة للتأكد من هذا الأمر مع أهمية تأمين الأشياء القيمة والقابلة للكسر.
  • إذا لم تفلح كل هذه الأمور، فهناك دوما خيار البقاء داخل موطنك، والاستمتاع بالترحيب بالزوار والأصدقاء، والتجول معهم بالمواقع المحلية التي لم ترها من قبل أو أن تتناول الطعام في أحد المطاعم المحلية التي لم تجربها من قبل.

هناك ما هو أفضل، أنت عميل للبنك التجاري الدولي فاستمتع بإجازتك ولا تفكر في النفقات. كما ذكرنا بالأعلى فإننا هنا لنساعدك على التخطيط لإجازة خالية من الديون. مع برنامج ” CIB Bonus Points Program ” الذي صمم خصيصا لعملاء “ويلث” للتأكد من أن كل كبيرة وصغيرة تم الاعتناء بها، وكل ما عليك هو الاستمتاع بقضاء عطلتك.

استمتع بهذه الخدمات مع هذا البرنامج المميز: يكافئ البرنامج العملاء الذين يتسوقون باستخدام بطاقة الخصم الخاصة بـ “ويلث” أو بطاقة ائتمان “بلاتينيوم” أو القيام بأنواع أخرى من الخدمات البنكية باستخدام النقاط، والتي يمكن استبدالها بالعديد من المنتجات المتنوعة. يمكنك استخدام هذه النقاط في قسائم الشراء التي تمكنك من شراء كل ما تحتاجه من خلال شبكة المتاجر التي تتعامل مع البنك، ومن الممكن أيضا تحويل النقاط إلى رصيد في كارت الائتمان الخاص بك. يمكنك حتى استخدامها في حجوزات الطيران أو تأجير السكن والسيارات. وبما إننا لا نزال في شهر رمضان، فإن تلك النقاط يمكن التبرع بها للأعمال الخيرية. وبالإضافة إلى كروت الائتمان، فإن تلك النقاط يمكن أن تربحها عند الحصول على قروض شخصية أو عند فتح حساب مصرفي للشباب أو حتى إجراء تحويلات لحساب آخر عبر الخدمات المصرفية الإلكترونية.

عائلتك

هل من الممكن أن تتحول العطلة العائلية الطويلة إلى كابوس؟ الإجابة بوضوح لا، حال اتباع تلك النصائح التي يقدمها tips from Brit + Co ، يمكنك قضاء العطلة مع الأسرة بأكملها وجعل التجربة أفضل للجميع. بداية يتعين عليك تجنب الشجار بين الأبناء من خلال تخصيص غرفة لكل منهم. يتعين عليك التكيف مع كافة الأعمار الموجودة بالأسرة وتقديم الأنشطة والاهتمامات التي تلبي احتياجات كل منهم على حدة. لا داعي للحرج أيضا من مطالبة الجميع بالإسهام قدر المستطاع في تكاليف الرحلة، حينها يمكن الاسترخاء والاستمتاع بعطلتك. ضع في الحسبان هذه العبارة أيضا “إنها عطلة وليست وظيفة”.

أناقتك

العطلات الصيفية ضرورية للنساء والرجال: هل أنت أحد هؤلاء الأشخاص الذين ينتهي الأمر بهم إلى الشعور بعدم وجود ما يكفي من الملابس من أجل العطلة رغم الأمتعة الزائدة؟ نعتقد أن النصائح القادمة موجه لك إذا ما أردت الاستمتاع بعطلتك. من أهم ما قرأنا هو وجود 10 قطع رئيسية يمكنك التنسيق أو المزج فيما بينها. والمفتاح الرئيسي لتبقى أنيقا طوال العطلة هو وجود المزيد من القطع التي يمكن استخدامها في أغراض متعددة. وللسيدات يفضل فستان قصير في فترة ما بعد الظهيرة والمساء أما الصباح فيفضل ارتداء تنورة طويلة للحصول على مظهر لائق. وللإكسسوارات، يفضل استخدام الحقائب المبهجة ذات الألوان الزاهية. وأهم ما في الموضوع، اختيار الحذاء المناسب الذي يعطي الاحساس بالراحة مع السير لمسافات طويلة. يمكنكم الاطلاع على المزيد من الأشياء الضرورية من خلال هذا الرابط.

وللرجال، تقدم مجلة Esquire Magazine تشكيلة متنوعة يمكن للرجال الاعتماد عليها والاختيار من بينها من أجل أفضل مظهر خلال فترة العطلة.

هذه النشرة اليومية تقوم بإصدارها شركة انتربرايز فنشرز لإعداد وتطوير المحتوى الإلكتروني (شركة ذات مسئولية محدودة – سجل تجاري رقم 83594).

الملخصات الإخبارية والمحتويات الواردة بنشرة «انتربرايز» معروضة للاطلاع فقط، ولا ينبغي اتخاذ أية قرارات جوهرية دون الرجوع إلى مصدر الخبر بلغته الأصلية. كما أن محتويات النشرة تقدم “كما هي – دون استقطاع”، ولا تتحمل الشركة أو أي من العاملين لديها أو أية مسئولية تجاه دقة أو صلاحية البيانات الواردة بالنشرة باعتبارها ملخصات إخبارية.2022 Enterprise Ventures LLC ©

نشرة «إنتربرايز» الإخبارية تأتيكم برعاية «بنك HSBC مصر»، البنك الرائد للشركات والأفراد في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريببي: 715-901-204)، و«المجموعة المالية هيرميس»، شركة الخدمات المالية الرائدة في الأسواق الناشئة والمبتدئة (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 385-178-200)، و«سوديك»، شركة التطوير العقاري المصرية الرائدة (رقم التسجيل الضريبي:002-168-212)، و«سوما باي»، شريكنا لعطلات البحر الأحمر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 300-903-204)، و«إنفنيتي»، المتخصصة في حلول الطاقة المتجددة للمدن والمصانع والمنازل في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 359-939-474)، و«سيرا»، رواد تقديم خدمات التعليم قبل الجامعي والجامعي بالقطاع الخاص في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 608-069-200)، و«أوراسكوم كونستراكشون»، رائدة مشروعات البنية التحتية في مصر وخارجها (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 806-988-229)، و«محرم وشركاه»، الشريك الرائد للسياسات العامة والعلاقات الحكومية (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 459-112-616)، و«بالم هيلز للتعمير»، المطور الرائد للعقارات التجارية والسكنية (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 014-737-432)، و«اتصالات مصر»، مزودة خدمات الاتصالات الرائدة في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 579-071-235) و«مجموعة التنمية الصناعية (آي دي جي)»، المطور الرائد للمناطق الصناعية في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي 253-965-266).

Friday, 1 June 2018

We’re thinking it and you’re thinking it: VACATION TIME

The Beginning

Your Wealth is a custom Enterprise briefing for people just like you: Executives, entrepreneurs and builders who know that time isn’t money, but that time and money are feedstock for the one thing that matters most in life: Your family, however you define it.

Once a month, in partnership with our friends at CIB Wealth, we’ll bring you a hand-picked selection of ideas, tips and inspirational stories that will help you make the most of your time, enhance our wealth, and build a better life with the people you love.

As always, we love hearing from readers. Send us story ideas, hints, tips or interview suggestions to editorial@enterprise.press.

Your Life

Ramadan and the heat are taking their toll. And so all that is on our minds right now isvacation, vacation, VACATION. For some of us, a summer in Egypt is not complete without at least some quality time in Sahel. For those looking to avoid the mass exodus to the North Coast, a trip abroad is a summer staple. If you belong to the latter group, now is the time to start planning.

The most obvious place to start has to be the World Cup. Whether you’re traveling or staying that’s what everyone will be doing or watching this summer. All of us here are excited but are feeling slight trepidation at the possibility of the Egypt National Team playing sans Mohamed Salah. We’re still going to be cheering with the fanaticism both for Egypt and our back up teams. In-house favorites here at Enterprise include the usual greats Germany, Brazil, and Argentina. Once upon a time, Spain was on that list. The tournament kicks off in two weeks on 14 June with a match between Saudi Arabia and host country Russia. Egypt’s first match will see the national team face off against Uruguay on Friday, 15 June at 2:00pm CLT. You can catch the full match schedule here.

For those lucky enough to go there, beware of all the shadiness that comes with eating out over there. Reuters has found that a number of restaurants across Russia have been boosting their credentials with fake positive reviews. Also worth looking at: Egypt’s Foreign Ministry has set up an information page for Egyptian fans heading to Russia.

Want to travel abroad but not sure where you’re headed? The Guardian has you covered with a comprehensive list of the top travel destinations of 2018. Foodies and party-goers are encouraged to visit Tbilisi, Georgia, where “the city’s contemporary culture is making its mark, earning the city a reputation as an edgy party destination.” Paris, Malta, and Greece’s many islands are also listed among the more popular choices for tourists. Still not sold on any particular city? You can also take this short, interactive quiz courtesy of the Washington Post to help you narrow down your choices.

If you’re running low on vacation days or want to squeeze more than one destination into a single trip, look no further than the New York Times’ “36 Hours” series, which provides a specific itinerary for spending 36 hours in various cities around the globe. A few options that have us ready to pack our bags: Lisbon, Portugal; Budapest, Hungary; Auckland, New Zealand; Johannesburg, South Africa; Sao Paulo, Brazil; and Sonoma County, California.

For those not planning a trip abroad and don’t want to run into everyone they’re avoiding in Sahel and Dahab, jump on any of the major travel sites that have really been showing Egypt’s lesser-known destinations plenty of props. Marsa Alam in particular has garnered excellent reviews worldwide. Sharm El Luli beach was voted as among the Top 25 beaches in the world by the 2018 TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice Awards. Lonely Planet has a rundown of some of the best diving spots there (incidentally some of the best in the world) and other activities like the 3alganoob Music Festival. Then of course there’s the eternal Fayoum, with its beautiful oases and the Valley of the Whales. A personal favorite has to be Ras Sudr, which we recommend visiting before tourists start migrating there in droves.

If you, like us, enjoy a leisurely drive (but can’t cope with the anxiety brought on by Cairo’s streets) a summer road trip could be just what the doctor ordered. Avid drivers know that not all roads are created equal, and that few things are as satisfying as finding the perfect match between a car and a road. Bloomberg’s Hannah Elliott is one among many who takes “road trips in nice cars” very seriously, and has compiled a list of 10 of the best road trips to try this summer, along with the perfect car for each endeavor. “From Australia to China, from America’s Pacific Northwest to Monaco, there’s a road — and a car — for every sensibility.”

Don’t go on vacation without an arsenal of apps that will help you handle the little detailsof the trip, courtesy of CNN. Its list of recommended travel apps range from those that help you pack (Packpoint) to the most obvious (Airbnb). Some gems did catch our attention, including:

  • WiFi Map: As the name suggests, the program points you to the nearest WiFi hotspot that can save your day and helps with avoiding data roaming charges. The WiFi maps can be downloaded for offline use.
  • Dayuse.com: This comes in handy if you need to book a hotel room for a few hours during daytime to simply rest your head for a few or need to shower immediately.
  • XE Currency: The app keeps you constantly appraised with the latest foreign currency rates in your travel destination that are updated by the minute.
  • AccuWeather: The app should provide hyper-localized minute-by-minute forecasts so you know exactly what the situation is like when you walk out the door.
  • SitOrSquat: Yes, someone actually made the app Seinfeld’s George Costanza came up with in the Curb Your Enthusiasm reunion. Probably the most useful app we found on the list.

You can now fulfill your inner old Rose and go see Titanic. But rest assured, that it will cost you that sapphire necklace. Oceangate, a deep-sea exploration company, will allow 54 tourists to join its submarine missions to dive as deep as 4,000 m underwater to help build 3D model for the Titanic, using high definition cameras, laser and sonar technology. The famed shipwreck, which had been sitting at the bottom of the ocean since 1912 (or whenever Leonardo DiCaprio was stuck in eternal puberty), isn’t the only attraction. World War II buffs will also be treated to a tour of some of the famous shipwrecks of the period.

The price tag? A cool USD 100,000, says the Economist (watch, runtime: 2:01). I guess not much has changed since the gilded age of unsinkable ships. We apologize for our crassness. We get that it’s still too soon for some who were aged 10-15 when the movie came out (spoiler alert: she lets go). For those who are finally over it, we urge to check out the Rick and Morty spoof on Netflix, which is by the far the best satire of the film ever (watch clip, runtime: 0:57)

Could some version of the Concorde be making a comeback and all us millenials who missed out get a chance to experience it? For those who don’t feel like going underwater, we have good news. One Denver-based startup appears to have never let the dream that is supersonic flights die. The Silicon Valley-backed Booms Technology is apparently one year away from beginning certification testing its full-scale supersonic “Boom” vehicle, after working on a third-sized model dubbed “Baby Boom.” Certification tests are expected to take place in three years and if all goes as planned, the passenger flight could be flying people in late 2023, according to National Geographic.

The flight will take you from New York to London in as little as three hours and 15 minutes while a trip from San Francisco to Tokyo can take up to five and a half hours only, down from a current 11. The plane can carry up to 55 passengers and its internal design features rows with a single seat each side of the aisle with under-seat storage for carry-on bags.

The USD 200 mn jets have already garnered commercial interest from big name airlines, who have made 76 orders. These include Virgin Atlantic.

So why will supersonic work this time? For one thing, the tech that will help keep that ear-piercing sonic boom (which is banned over the US) is getting better. Besides Boom Technology, NASA and Lockheed Martin are developing their own breeds of supersonic aircraft that will greatly minimize sonic booms, though these appear to be behind Boom Technology. Sonic booms had made Concorde commercial flights over the continental US impossible. Cost efficiency in manufacturing has also apparently been greatly improved. You can check out this old explainer from Vox on why the Concorde died out (watch; runtime: 10:22). Well, there’s nothing left to say but: “Shut up, and take our money.”

Your top 5 for May

The five most important business and economy stories out of Egypt in May 2018:

Your Time

At the movies: It’s summer blockbuster season, and the Hollywood recycling machine of sequels and remakes is on full throttle, according to Esquire’s list. The trend to turn bro movies into all-female casts continues with Ocean’s 8. The June movie features stars including Sandra Bullock, Cate Blanchett, Anne Hathaway, Rihanna and others. Beyond the first remake we weren’t happy with the performance of the last two Ocean’s movies. So here’s hoping they do well (though they can never replace the late Bernie Mac). One sequel we are excited about is the Incredibles 2 (watch trailer; runtime: 2:16). The original was one of the funniest Pixar features of all time, so we’re sure your kids or your date will appreciate this one. And who can say no to another Jurassic Park movie?

For those with more grown up tastes, Vox has a pretty interesting rundown of some of the flicks which caused quite a stir at the Cannes Film Festival. Notable mentions: Spike Lee is apparently back to form with the comedy BlacKkKlansman, while Lars von Trier has not let age temper his violent and depressing impulses with the The House That Jack Built.

Your Money

Contrary to popular belief, your kids might just be more money-conscious than olderfolks. “Despite claims that imply millennials are care-free in their spending habits, the research shows that millennials are much more money savvy than their parents when it comes to having a night out,” according to the Independent. One study found that millennials are unlikely to be okay with spending exorbitant amounts of money on a night out — whereas 75% of their baby boomer parents wouldn’t bat an eye — and have begun leaning towards staying home, rather than go out, to socialize. This trend doesn’t seem to hold its ground when it comes to summer socializing, however: Studies have found that millennials tend to spend beyond their average budgets and habits during the summer months, during which they travel more often and attend more events than they would during the winter (watch, runtime: 1:02).

Plan a debt-free summer vacation: We hate to be buzzkills, but it behooves not to get in on a piece on spending if we weren’t going to give some kind of advice on how to manage a debt-free vacation, courtesy of financial planning consultant Andrew Housser. Some of these are basic and are just common sense. But vacations are designed precisely to dull our common sense. So here are some of his tips for financially prudent vacation:

  • Budgeting: The most obvious one of all. His big warning: DO NOT GO INTO DEBT. No vacation is worth that. In case, the trip’s expenses are too steep, consider cutting back on luxuries including eating out and pre-travel shopping.
  • Be mindful of hidden costs: these include factoring in extra nights in hotels, stuff like Wi-Fi, gas cots, choosing cheaper flight days and just general wear and tear. These hidden costs is how they get you.
  • Account for the costs at home while you’re gone:The best way to do it would be seeking the help of family or friends who admire your place to stay in for no-cost lodging and included home care. Just make sure to secure any valuable or breakable items.
  • If all else fails, then a “staycation” option should always be on the table. It can still be fun to welcome visitors and friends over, show them around local sites you never saw or dine out at a local place you never got a chance to experience.

It gets even better… Who says you have to pay for your vacation when you bank with CIB? As you’ve seen above, we are here to help you plan a debt-free vacation and even more. The CIB Bonus Points Program is designed to ensure that our Wealth Customers are offered the redemption options that address their every need.

Here’s what you can scratch off your dues: The program rewards customers shopping with their Wealth debit card or Platinum credit card, or performing other types of banking services with points, which can be redeemed for various goodies. These points can go towards gift vouchers that our customers can use to pay for their merchandise at one of the strongest merchant network, cash back on a CIB credit card, and could even go towards booking their next trip including flights, accommodation and car rental. And since it is still Ramadan, those looking to make a donation can be covered by these points. In addition to the points on using the cards, points can also be earned by topping up personal loans, opening a new youth bank account or even doing third party transfers over e-banking.

Our Wealth customers can easily log into bonus.cibeg.com to view the full list of participating merchants and redeem their points.

Your Family

Does an extended family vacation have to be a nightmare? Apparently not, if you follow these tips from Brit + Co to make a trip with the whole gang a less painful experience. You may want to begin by assigning rooms in advance and get the fighting out of the way early. As hurtful as it may sound, they tell us to try to accommodate everyone’s ages, needs, and interests by offering them plenty of options for activities. Don’t be embarrassed to ask everyone to pitch in as extended family vacations can be budget friendly through bulk discounts and splitting bills. Yet somehow we need to do all this and try to relax. This is a vacation, not a job,” they tell us. They’ve definitely convinced us to go without an extended family vacation.

Your Style

Are you one of those last-minute packers who always end up with extra baggage weightand still feels like they have nothing to wear on holidays? This essential 10-piece capsule holiday wardrobe could be for you. From what we’ve read it turns out all you really need are ten key pieces that you can mix and match. The key to remaining stylish while travelling light are multipurpose pieces that you can wear in different forms. A relaxed midi dress for afternoons and evening, a long skirt for a “chic day look” or beach strolling, or a large scarf to keep you warm on chilly evenings and still be used as a sarong on the beach. For essential accessories, pack some fun colorful sunnies and a beach-ready bag. Most importantly, do not forget to bring comfy shoes for long walks and sightseeing. You do not want those blisters on your feet. For extra options, check out these essential items.

As for the gents, Esquire Magazine has a collection of style guides and tops for you this summer.

Enterprise is a daily publication of Enterprise Ventures LLC, an Egyptian limited liability company (commercial register 83594), and a subsidiary of Inktank Communications. Summaries are intended for guidance only and are provided on an as-is basis; kindly refer to the source article in its original language prior to undertaking any action. Neither Enterprise Ventures nor its staff assume any responsibility or liability for the accuracy of the information contained in this publication, whether in the form of summaries or analysis. © 2022 Enterprise Ventures LLC.

Enterprise is available without charge thanks to the generous support of HSBC Egypt (tax ID: 204-901-715), the leading corporate and retail lender in Egypt; EFG Hermes (tax ID: 200-178-385), the leading financial services corporation in frontier emerging markets; SODIC (tax ID: 212-168-002), a leading Egyptian real estate developer; SomaBay (tax ID: 204-903-300), our Red Sea holiday partner; Infinity (tax ID: 474-939-359), the ultimate way to power cities, industries, and homes directly from nature right here in Egypt; CIRA (tax ID: 200-069-608), the leading providers of K-12 and higher level education in Egypt; Orascom Construction (tax ID: 229-988-806), the leading construction and engineering company building infrastructure in Egypt and abroad; Moharram & Partners (tax ID: 616-112-459), the leading public policy and government affairs partner; Palm Hills Developments (tax ID: 432-737-014), a leading developer of commercial and residential properties; Mashreq (tax ID: 204-898-862), the MENA region’s leading homegrown personal and digital bank; Etisalat Misr (tax ID: 235-071-579), the leading telecoms provider in Egypt; and Industrial Development Group (IDG) (tax ID:266-965-253), the leading builder of industrial parks in Egypt.