الجمعة, 4 مايو 2018

رمضان كريم

ثروتك هو موجز من إنتربرايز مخصص لك: لقيادات الشركات ورواد الأعمال والمطورين العقاريين الذين يعرفون أن الوقت لا يعني المال، ولكن الوقت والمال مواد أولية للأمور الأهم في الحياة وعلى رأسها عائلتك.

مرة واحدة في كل شهر، بالشراكة مع أصدقائنا في قطاع إدارة الثروات بالبنك التجاري الدولي CIB Wealth، سنقدم لك مجموعة مختارة من الأفكار والنصائح والقصص الملهمة، والتي ستساعدك على الاستفادة من وقتك بالقدر الأكبر، وتحسين ثروتك، وبناء حياة أفضل مع من تحب.

وكما هو الحال دائما، يسعدنا الاستماع إلى قرائنا. أرسل لنا أفكار لقصص، أو ملحوظات، أو نصائح، أو اقتراحات، على البريد الإلكتروني editorial@enterprise.press.

حياتك

رمضان كريم وأهلا بكم في العدد الجديد من نشرة ثروتك. من المقرر أن تحل أول أيام الشهر الكريم في 15 أو 16 مايو الجاري. بالطبع يسبب تغيير ساعات العمل مع ارتفاع درجات الحرارة المتوقع في إزعاج الكثيرين خلال رمضان، ومع ذلك لا يمكن الاستغناء عن روحانيات هذا الشهر الكريم والتفاف العائلة حول السحور والإفطار، وساعات الليل الطويلة التي يحلو فيها السمر، وأيضا مسلسلات وبرامج رمضان (هذا بالطبع لا يشمل برنامج رامز جلال). وهذا الأمر سيستمر معنا طوال 29 أو 30 يوما، وحاولنا أن نتناول في هذا العدد كل ما يهمك خلال هذا الشهر. ونبدأ أولا بمواعيد الإفطار والسحور.

أصدر تطبيق الباحث الإسلامي مفكرة شهر رمضان، يوضح خلالها مواعيد الصلاة والإفطار والسحور. يتوقع التطبيق أن تحل أول أيام رمضان يوم الأربعاء 16 مايو يؤذن فيه لصلاة الفجر الساعة 3:22 صباحا، ويحل الإفطار مع آذان المغرب الساعة 6:42 مساء.

لا تنخدع بإمساكك عن الطعام لأكثر من 15 ساعة في اليوم، لأنك تميل إلى تناول الطعام أكثر خلال الساعات القليلة
بين المغرب والفجر، وهو بالطبع ما يرفع إنفاق الأسر خلال الشهر الكريم، ما يعني أن ميزانية المنزل موجهة أكثر نحو متطلبات البقالة والخدمات، وفقا لموقع إنتربرونير ميديل ايست. وتوقع كل من شركة “بيفورت” المتخصصة في التكنولوجيا المالية وشركة توصيل طلبات البقالة الناشئة “إنستاشوب” و”تودور ستيب” أن ينمو الإنفاق على الطعام والخدمات خلال شهر رمضان بنسبة 50%، وأن تستحوذ طلبات البقالة وحدها على 22% من ميزانية كل أسرة في المتوسط. ويرتفع الطلب كثيرا على التمور بنسبة 73%، ومنتجات الألبان خاصة الحليب بنسبة 62%، والزبادي بنسبة 61%، المشروبات بنسبة 53%. وبينما يتقبل المستهلكون الزيادة في أسعار الطعام خلال هذا الموسم، يجب أن يعرف تجار التجزئة أن العروض الترويجية مثل “اشتر واحد واحصل على الآخر مجانا” والخصومات على الأسعار وبرنامج استرداد النقود كلها أمور تغري المستهلكين خلال شهر رمضان.

التجارة الإلكترونية لها أيضا نصيب من كعكة رمضان: تميل مبيعات التجزئة عبر الإنترنت إلى الارتفاع خلال شهر رمضان، خاصة الأسبوع الأخير منه أي قبل عيد الفطر، وفقا لموقع آربيان ماركيتر. ولأن العيد يعد موسما للهدايا في عدة بلدان عربية، يعتزم 61% من المشاركين في أحد الاستطلاعات بالسعودية و85% من الإمارات شراء هدايا للآخرين خلال شهر رمضان. وتهدأ مبيعات التجزئة مرة أخرى خلال وبعد العيد. وتستمر حجوزات السفر في الارتفاع، خاصة مع تطلع الكثيرين إلى قضاء عطلة الصيف عقب شهر رمضان مباشرة.

ما هي أكثر الأمور الممتعة في رمضان؟ عادة ما تنقسم الأحاديث في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي قبل شهر رمضان إلى أربعة مواضيع رئيسية، وهي الأعمال الخيرية، والطعام، والبرامج التلفزيونية، والعد التنازلي للعيد، وفقا لدراسة صادرة عن بوبليسيس ميديا ميدل إيست. وأشارت الدراسة إلى أن التنويهات والإشارات الخاصة بشهر رمضان في المحادثات على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي بلغت نحو 605 آلاف خلال الفترة من مارس حتى أواخر أبريل الماضي، مع تنوع المواضيع بين مناسبات السحور والإفطار، وعروض السلع الرمضانية الأساسية، والشعور بالانتماء للمجتمع، والأكلات الرمضانية والنصائح الروحانية. وذكرت الدراسة أيضا أن المستهلكين (خاصة في مصر) يتطلعون إلى مشاهدة الإعلانات التليفزيونية للسلع خلال رمضان خاصة لبيبسي وفودافون.

لا تشتر ولا تستهلك فوق طاقتك خاصة في الشهر الذي نسعى فيه إلى الاعتدال: الجانب المؤسف من التجمعات العائلية المستمرة على موائد الإفطار والسحور هو كميات الأكل الضخمة المهدرة. بلدان الشرق الأوسط بشكل خاص مذنبة فيما يتعلق بكميات الطعام الكبيرة المهدرة خلال شهر رمضان. على سبيل المثال، تهدر البحرين 400 طن من الطعام يوميا، في حين تتخلص البيوت القطرية من نصف طعامها تقريبا خلال الشهر الكريم، حسبما تشير بيانات “إيكومينا“.

بعض النصائح لتقليل هدر الطعام: بدلا من إحضار علبة من الحلوى في كل إفطار تدعى إليه، اشتر هدية أخرى بعيدا عن المأكولات لمضيفك، وفكر في استغلال عزومة الإفطار كفرصة لجمع أموال للأعمال الخيرية، وعندما تكون أنت المضيف حاول أن تخطط بشكل أكثر واقعية كي لا تعد طعاما يكفي 20 شخصا في سحور سيحضره فقط 5 أفراد.

الأهم هو ألا تهدر صحتك خلال الشهر الكريم: الصيام يمكن أن يكون جيدا لصحتك إذا تم استغلاله بصورة مناسبة. نشر موقع هيلث 24 بعض النصائح للطبيب الجنوب أفريقي سلامة سولومون الذي يرى أن رمضان فرصة عظيمة لكسر العادات الغذائية السيئة. ويقدم سولومون بعض النصائح لتحقيق الاستفادة الكاملة من الصيام، مثل تجنب تناول الوجبات الضخمة، والتأكد من أن وجبتي اليوم تشملان عناصر غذائية موزعة بالتساوي بين مجموعات الغذاء الأساسية. بالنسبة للسحور، ينصح سولومون بالأطعمة التي تمنح الجسم طاقة يمتد مفعولها طويلا، مثل الشوفان والفول والأرز، إضافة إلى السوائل بالطبع، وفي المقابل تجنب الكافيين لتسببه في جفاف الجسم. وبالنسبة للإفطار، ينصح سولومون بالتمر والماء على الإفطار قبل تناول وجبة متوازنة لا تحتوي على أطعمة غنية بالدهون أو السكريات.

ربما تخسر بعض من وزنك خلال هذا الشهر ولكن عليك تجنب “الجيم”، وفقا لتحذير هيئة الخدمة الصحية الوطنية البريطانية. ويقول الطبيب المقيم في أبو ظبي هاني جابر في تقرير بصحيفة ذا ناشيونال إنه لا ينصح أحدا باستخدام الصيام كحمية غذائية وإنقاص الوزن من خلال تمرينات إضافية، لأن الجسم يكون مرهق بالفعل، وإنقاص الوزن ليس هو الهدف من الصيام.

النوم أيضا عامل مهم للاحتفاظ بطاقتك خلال الصيام، وفقا لجابر الذي ينصح بالنوم حتى الساعة الحادية عشر أو حتى منتصف الليل، ثم النوم مجددا بعد السحور.

ترتيبات خاصة لمرضى السكر الذين يرغبون في الصيام خلال رمضان ينصح بها الدكتور وئام حسين. يوصي حسين المرضى باستشارة طبيبهم الخاص في هذا الشأن قبل رمضان بشهر كامل، وتلقي تدريب يساعدهم على السيطرة على معدلات السكر وضغط الدم وكمية السوائل بالجسم.

وتأكد أيضا أن لديك قائمة قوية من وصفات الطعام استعدادا للعزومات التي ستقيمها: قمنا بالفعل بتدوين بعض الوصفات الشهية التي ندخرها خصيصا لأيام رمضان الطويلة. إحدى تلك الوصفات هي صينية الدجاج بالزبادي والثوم مع البطاطس والجرجير، والتي يقدمها موقع نيويورك تايمز للطهي. الوصفة لا تحتاج سوى لمكونات موجودة دائما في مطبخك أو يمكنك إحضارها من السوبر ماركت، وبسهولة أيضا يمكنك مضاعفة حجم هذه الوصفة لتكفي عددا أكبر من الضيوف. وهناك دائما ميزة إضافية في مثل هذه الوصفات، إذ يمكنك طهي كل شيء سويا في صينية واحدة لتوفير وقت الإعداد ووقت تنظيف الأواني.

ومن بين وصفات الصواني والطواجن الأخرى التي ننصح بتجربتها في رمضان: شوربة الدجاج والمشروم بالكريمة المقدمة من موقع ديليش، وطاجن لحم الضأن بالفواكه من “بي بي سي فود”، وصينية السلمون والكرنب الأحمر وحبات البطاطس الصغيرة من مارثا ستيوارت.

كيف يؤثر تغير المناخ على مصادر طعامك التقليدية؟ ربما يمكنك الحصول على مكونات بعض من تلك الوصفات من بلدان أخرى غير بلدان زراعتها التقليدية، بسبب تغير المناخ، وفقا لتقرير نشرته بلومبرج. تحول المناخ الذي تسبب في جعل مناطق معروفة ببرودتها تشهد طقسا أدفأ، ومناطق أخرى معروفة بدفئها تصبح أكثر حرارة، أحدث تحولا في الظروف المثالية لنمو بعض المحاصيل التي تغير طعمها واكتسبت مذاقات جديدة بحسب المدة التي استغرقتها في النمو والنضج. ومع ارتفاع درجات الحرارة، أصبحت المحاصيل الاستوائية تنمو بعيدا من خط الاستواء، كما انتقلت زراعة محاصيل أخرى من السهول إلى المرتفعات ذات الجو الأبرد. أما الأسماك والكائنات البحرية فذهبت إلى بحار أبرد وانتقلت معها عمليات الصيد.

في السينما: كيف يشعر السعوديون تجاه صناعة السينما الناشئة لديهم. الذهاب إلى السينما ليس حدثا بالنسبة لمعظم سكان العالم، ولكن في السعودية يعد حدثا ثوريا، حسبما كتبت المخرجة السعودية هيفاء المنصور في صحيفة نيويورك تايمز. مع عدم وجود أي دور عرض سينمائي في البلاد، نشأت هيفاء على مشاهدة أفلام بوليوود وأفلام ديزني التي كان العاملون بنوادي الفيديو يهربون شرائطها إليها، إذ كان يحظر على الفتيات دخول تلك المحال. خوض تجربة مشاهدة الأفلام في مكان عام مع الأصدقاء والعائلة، أن تضحك أن تنكمش خوفا إلى جانب غرباء، هذا يعد أمرا مميزا، حسبما تقول هيفاء التي أخرجت فيلم وجدة (2012) الذي كان أول فيلم يمثل المملكة العربية السعودية في الأوسكار.

وتعمل هيفاء هذا العام على تأسيس شركتها الخاصة للإنتاج السينمائي “هيفاء المنصور برودكشنز”، وهو حدثا جديدا من نوعه للسيدات في السعودية. وأول فيلم تخطط لإنتاجه هو “حكاية تساند طموحات المرأة السياسية، وتحتفي بفنوننا المفقودة وبعودة الموسيقى إلى مدننا الصغيرة”.

أهم 5 أخبار خلال شهر أبريل

شملت الموضوعات الخمسة الأكثر أهمية خلال أبريل ما يلي:

وقتك

ما يمكنكم مشاهدته خلال شهر رمضان: أنتم على موعد مع أكثر من 30 عملا تلفزيونيا يمكنكم الاختيار من بينها لتمضية أوقات فراغكم في الشهر الفضيل، والذي تشهد مسلسلاته مشاركة عشرات النجوم في تشكيلة متنوعة من الكوميديا والرومانسية والدراما والإثارة. تقدم إذاعة “نايل اف ام” قائمة لـ 31 مسلسلا سيتم بثها خلال رمضان المقبل. وفي صدارة تلك القائمة يأتي مسلسل النجم الشهير عادل إمام “عوالم خفية” ومحمد رمضان في “نسر الصعيد” ومحمد هنيدي في “أرض النفاق” والذي يشارك فيه الكاتب الصحفي إبراهيم عيسى. نيللي كريم تعود أيضا هذا العام من خلال مسلسل “اختفاء” والذي ستُظهر خلاله تمكنها من اللغة الروسية. ويشارك أحمد عز في بطولة مسلسل “أبو عمر المصري” عن رواية شهيرة للكاتب عز الدين شكري فشير والتي تحكي قصة محامي مصري انضم إلى “داعش” بدافع الانتقام.

هناك عمل نرفض أن نذكر اسمه هنا من الأفضل أن تقضوا أوقاتكم في لعب “السوليتير” عوضا عن مشاهدته، لن يكون ضمن قائمتك المفضلة بكل تأكيد.

أموالك

أين توجه صدقتك؟ الساعات التي نقضيها أمام التلفاز تعطينا مجموعة من الخيارات حول الجهات التي يمكن أن نتبرع لها، وتوفر لنا كايرو سين بعض المقترحات للجهات الخيرية التي تستطيع أن توجه لها تبرعاتك خلال الشهر الكريم. من أشهر الجمعيات الخيرية وأقدمها في مصر جمعية رسالة وجمعية دار الأورمان، وأيضا جمعية الباقيات الصالحات التي ترعى الأرامل والأيتام ومرضى الزهايمر الذين لا يستطيعون رعاية أنفسهم.

تحتاج بعض المنظمات والمبادرات إلى وقتك بقدر ما تحتاج إلى المال، يمكنك قضاء بعض الساعات في تعبئة صناديق الطعام مع بنك الطعام المصري، أو قضاء بعض الوقت مع الصغار من مرضى السرطان في مستشفى 57357. ويمكنك أيضا المشاركة في إحدى المبادرات التي انتشرت على مدار العامين الماضيين لجمع الطعام والملابس والتبرعات النقدية لمساعدة المحتاجين. يحتاج الجميع إلى المساعدة، لذا لا تقلق كثيرا بشأن اختيار المنظمة “الصحيحة”.

عائلتك

غالبا ما ينصحك إمام المسجد في خطبة صلاة الجمعة بطاعة آبائك، لكن من الواضح أنه لم يقابلهم. نأمل أن يكون بعض قرائنا صغارا بما يكفي ليتذكروا صرامة آبائهم الذين لا يقبلون بأي شيء سوى الكمال لأطفالهم. تعطينا صحيفة نيويورك تايمز 14 نصيحة لكيفية عصيان “الآباء الصارمين”.

أناقتك

رمضان موسم أزياء المسلمين أيضا. اعتاد الملايين من الناس في البلاد ذات الأغلبية المسلمة شراء الملابس الجديدة خلال شهر رمضان، منتظرين أول أيام العيد لارتدائها. اقتناء الملابس الجديدة أيضا من الممكن أن يبدأ قبل شهر رمضان، إذ يتحول الشهر الكريم إلى موسم للمقابلات العائلية والاجتماعية التي لها أزيائها الخاصة أيضا، وفقا لما كتبته سابا امتياز بموقع ريكد، وتخاطب النساء قائلة: “التخطيط لما سترتديه خلال رمضان يبدأ قبل أسابيع من الشهر الكريم”. وتعطينا مها عبد الرشيد مؤسسة متاجر “بامبا” للملابس في دبي لمحة عن اتجاهات التسوق المرتبطة برمضان، وقالت لموقع جلامور: “هناك مناسبة للخروج من المنزل كل يوم، وتحب السيدات التزين بالملابس في هذه المناسبات”. وتفضل بعض النساء المسلمات الاحتفال بشهر رمضان بأزياء محتشمة، وفقا لعبد الرشيد، التي تصمم أزياء فضفاضة للسيدات.

هذه النشرة اليومية تقوم بإصدارها شركة انتربرايز فنشرز لإعداد وتطوير المحتوى الإلكتروني (شركة ذات مسئولية محدودة – سجل تجاري رقم 83594).

الملخصات الإخبارية والمحتويات الواردة بنشرة «انتربرايز» معروضة للاطلاع فقط، ولا ينبغي اتخاذ أية قرارات جوهرية دون الرجوع إلى مصدر الخبر بلغته الأصلية. كما أن محتويات النشرة تقدم “كما هي – دون استقطاع”، ولا تتحمل الشركة أو أي من العاملين لديها أو أية مسئولية تجاه دقة أو صلاحية البيانات الواردة بالنشرة باعتبارها ملخصات إخبارية.2021 Enterprise Ventures LLC ©

نشرة «إنتربرايز» الإخبارية تأتيكم برعاية «المجموعة المالية هيرميس»، شركة الخدمات المالية الرائدة في الأسواق الناشئة والمبتدئة (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 385-178-200)، «سوديك»، شركة التطوير العقاري المصرية الرائدة (رقم التسجيل الضريبي:002-168-212)، و«سوما باي»، شريكنا لعطلات البحر الأحمر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 300-903-204)، و«إنفنيتي»، المتخصصة في حلول الطاقة المتجددة للمدن والمصانع والمنازل في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 359-939-474)، و«سيرا»، رواد تقديم خدمات التعليم قبل الجامعي والجامعي بالقطاع الخاص في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 608-069-200)، و«أوراسكوم كونستراكشون»، رائدة مشروعات البنية التحتية في مصر وخارجها(رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 806-988-229)، و«اتصالات مصر»، مزودة خدمات الاتصالات الرائدة في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 579-071-235)، و«أبو عوف»، شركة المنتجات الغذائية الصحية الرائدة في مصر والمنطقة (رقم التسجيل الضريبي 846-628-584).

Friday, 4 May 2018

Ramadan Kareem, everybody

The Beginning

Your Wealth is a custom Enterprise briefing for people just like you: Executives, entrepreneurs and builders who know that time isn’t money, but that time and money are feedstock for the one thing that matters most in life: Your family, however you define it.

Once a month, in partnership with our friends at CIB Wealth, we’ll bring you a hand-picked selection of ideas, tips and inspirational stories that will help you make the most of your time, enhance our wealth, and build a better life with the people you love.

As always, we love hearing from readers. Send us story ideas, hints, tips or interview suggestions to editorial@enterprise.press

Your Life

Ramadan Kareem and welcome to this special edition of Your Wealth. Whether you do or do not observe the holy month — whose first day is expected to land on the 15 or 16 May — if you happen to live in a Muslim majority country, there’s no escaping it. From changing business hours, to your favorite sin joints being closed, for many, it is an inconvenience. Especially as temperatures here start heading closer to 40 C. But many, including some of us here, cannot make do without the pay-off: the spirituality, those close family Iftars and Suhours, chatting the night away at a cafe, and of course the colorful entertainment (minus of course, Ramez Galal). But it is a full-time gig for 29-30 days that dominates all aspects of our lives. We tried to have that reflected in this issue. So, we might as well start with what counts:

…When can we eat: Islamic Finder has released its Ramadan calendar and prayer time schedule. On day one, which it assumes will land on the 16th, Fajr prayer will come at 3:22 am, while sunset should come in at 6:42 pm.

Don’t let the 15 hours between meals fool you, because we ironically tend to eat more in that short space of time and spending rises accordingly. Which means our household budgets become more geared towards paying for groceries and services, says Enterpreneur Middle East. Fintech company PayFort and on-demand grocery startups InstaShop and Todoorstep found that consumers expect their food and service expenditures to grow 50% during Ramadan, and groceries alone account for around 22% of each household’s budget, on average. A number of products see a significant jump in demand, particularly dates (73%) dairy products such as milk (62%) and yogurt (61%), and beverages (53%). “While consumers are largely accepting of the increased food prices during the season, retailers should know that promos like ‘Buy One Get One,’ price discounts, and cashbacks are all big hits with consumers in the month of Ramadan.”

E-commerce also gets a piece of the Ramadan pie: Online retail sales tend to see a jump during Ramadan, particularly the last week of the holy month directly before Eid Al Fitr, according to the Arabian Marketer. Due to the traditional gifting during Eid al-Fitr 61% of survey respondents in KSA and 58% in UAE planning to buy gifts for others during Ramadan. Retail sales then cool off once again during and after Eid. Online travel bookings continue on an upwards trajectory, particularly as consumers look to vacation during the summer months after Ramadan.

What are you finding interesting this holy month? Long before your wallet ever starts seeing that hole get bigger, the pre-Ramadan social media conversationsPublicis Media Middle East looks at popular media trends in the run up to the holy month, which mostly boil down to four key topics: charity, food, TV shows, and the countdown to Eid. According to the study, Ramadan conversations recorded 605k mentions on social media from March until late April, with topics ranging from Iftar/Suhoor events, offers on staple Ramadan goods, and the sense of community, to Ramadan cuisine cravings and spiritual tips. The study also looks at pre-Ramadan product associations, with consumers (mostly in Egypt) look forward to Pepsi and Vodafone ads in particular.

Waste not, want not — especially during the month of moderation: An unfortunate downside of the constant family gatherings over Iftar and Suhoor is the large quantity of food that ends up going to waste. Middle Eastern countries are especially guilty of over-indulgent behaviors that result in a spike in food waste during Ramadan — Bahrain generates around 400 tonnes of food waste per day and Qatari households end up disposing of around half of their food during the holy month, according to EcoMENA.

Some tips to cut down on the wastage your household is responsible for: Rather than showing up to each Iftar with a dessert in hand, consider using the event as a chance to collect money donations for charity, buy a non-food gift for your host, and try to plan realistically to avoid preparing enough food for 20 when you’re hosting an intimate Suhoor for five. Alternatively, get in touch with charitable organizations such as the Egyptian Food Bank or Resala, or one of several citizen initiatives that pick up leftover food from your house to distribute among the needy.

The waste you shed, could be your own body’s: Fasting during Ramadan can be good for your health if done properly.“Ramadan is a great opportunity to break the chains of bad eating habits,” Cape Town dietitian Salaamah Solomon tells Health24. He offers tips to reap the full benefits of fasting, like avoiding feasts and making sure the two meals of the day include equally distributed nutrition from major food groups. For Suhoor, Solomon recommends foods that provide long-lasting energy, such as oats, beans, and rice, as well as fluids of course, while avoiding caffeinated drinks, which can lead to dehydration. As for Iftar, he recommends the traditional dates and water to break the fast, before moving to the main balanced meal that should be free of foods high in fat or sugar.

While this month could be an opportunity to lose weight, AVOID THE GYM, warns the UK’s National Health Service. The body is already fatigued and this is not the purpose of fasting,” Abu Dhabi-based Doctor Hani Jaber tells the National.

Sleep can also help keep energy levels up while fasting, he adds, recommending sleeping after Iftar until about 11:00 pm or midnight, and then again after Suhoor.

Special arrangements are required for diabetic patients who wish to fast during Ramadan, says Dr. Wiam Hussein. He recommends that patients undergo a medical assessment one month before Ramadan, as well as receive educational counseling to control their sugar levels, blood pressure, and level of hydration. While none of us here holds degrees from Al Azhar, we’re also sure you can and probably should get a dispensation.

Let’s make sure you have a solid arsenal of Iftar recipes for the wave of gatherings on the horizon: We’re already bookmarking some mouth-watering recipes to keep ourselves well-fed at the end of every long day. One of our favorites so far is this sheet-pan chicken with potatoes, arugula, and garlic yogurt — courtesy of NYT Cooking. The recipe uses ingredients that you will likely already have on hand in your pantry, or won’t have to go through much trouble to find in any grocery store, and can easily be multiplied to cater to the large crowds that will inevitably be seated at your dinner table at least once during the holy month. The best part? The fact that it’s a one-pan recipe means that everything gets cooked together all at once, cutting down on the prep and clean-up time.

A few other favorite one-pot / pan recipes that you can whip up in a jiffy: Creamy chicken and mushroom chowder from Delish; fruity lamb tagine from BBC Food; and salmon, red cabbage, and new potatoes from Martha Stewart.

Food for thought segment: Has climate change is changing the typical sources of our food? You may be sourcing some of the ingredients for these recipes from countries that have not traditionally provided them, thanks to climate change. The evolving climate — which has caused some typically cold regions to become warmer and other already-warm areas to get progressively warmer — has shifted optimal conditions for some crop growth and fishing to cooler areas in the world, according to Bloomberg.

At the Movies — How Saudis feel of their nascent film industry: Going to the movies may not seem like much for the rest of the world, but in Saudi Arabia, it is revolutionary, Saudi director Haifaa Al Mansour writes for the New York Times. With no movie theatres in the country, Al Mansour grew up watching Bollywood and Disney films smuggled by male workers from local video stores, where no women allowed. “To experience a phenomenon like this in public, with friends and family, to laugh and cringe along with strangers, is a privilege,” says Al Mansour — the director of Wadjda (2012), the kingdom’s first ever submission for Oscar consideration.

The young director is now opening her own business this year: Haifaa Al Mansour Productions, a milestone for women in Saudi Arabia. The first film she plans to produce is “a tale that applauds women’s ambitions in politics, celebrates our lost arts and the return of music to our small towns.”

Your top 5 for March

The five most important business and economy stories out of Egypt in April 2018:

  • Egypt’s budget for the FY2018-19 fiscal year sees GDP growing at 5.8%, and the budget deficit narrowing to 8.4%.
  • Egypt and the EU sign an MoU on energy cooperation yesterday that is widely expected to pave the way for Egypt to become a gas export hub to Europe.
  • Central bank Governor Tarek Amer ressures the sector that the amended Banking Act will not set term limits for bank managing directors.
  • Madinet Nasr Housing & Development (MNHD) and SODIC explore a possible merger or acquisition.
  • The Cairo Court of Urgent Matters suspended a ruling by the Administrative Court the previous month that revoked the licenses of ride-hailing apps Uber and Careem.

Your Time

CIB Wealth understands that your time with the ones you love is the most precious resource: Balancing the needs of your work, family, food, sleep and all your other needs become immensely more complicated and difficult in Ramadan. That’s why CIB Wealth, in partnership with Les Concierges Egypt, is setting the industry standard here in Egypt for delivering personalized experiences designed with its clients in mind. CIB Wealth Concierge Services gives CIB Wealth clients exclusive, efficient, and immediate access to round-the-clock tailored services — whether you need help getting errands checked off your to-do list, assistance booking a business flight, or a hassle-free way to make dinner reservations. CIB Wealth Concierge Service understands that anything mundane you don’t have to do, is more time spent with those you love.

What to watch during Ramadan

Ramadan mosalsalat lineup

Prepare to binge on a lineup of over 30 mosalsalat in the 30 days of Ramadan. This year’s TV shows feature dozens of stars in a variety of comedy, romance, mystery, thriller, and drama. Nile FM has a list of 31 shows and the channels set to air them. The most anticipated shows this year begin with Adel Imam’s Awalem Khafeya (Hidden worlds), Mohamed Ramadan’s Nesr El Saeed (The Eagle of the South), and Mohamed Henedy’s Ard El Nefaq (Land of Hypocrisy), which features renowned journalist Ibrahim Eissa in several characters. Nelly Karim returns this year with yet another dark plot in Ikhtifaa (Disappearance), where she shows off her Russian language skills. Also look for book adaptations, with Ahmed Ezz starring in best-selling novelist Ezzedine Choukri Fishere’s Abu Omar El Masry, which tells the story of an Egyptian lawyer joining Daesh in pursuit of revenge.

One show we refuse to mention is that annoying prankster whose name will not be mentioned here again. Do yourselves a favor and spend time playing solitaire if nothing else is on. With enough momentum, his ratings will take a dive.

Your Money

Where should your charity go this month? The hours we spend fixated on our television sets will without a doubt give us all an array of options for organizations to donate some money to, and we have a starter pack to give you some ideas before Ramadan officially arrives. A good place to start is Resala or Dar El Orman — two of Egypt’s most widely known and oldest charitable organizations — or Al Baqeyat Al Salehat Association, which shelters widows, orphans, and Alzheimer patients who are unable to care for themselves, CairoScene suggests.

Some organizations and initiatives need your time just as much as your money — consider spending a few hours packaging food boxes at the Egyptian Food Bank, or spending time with young cancer patients at the 57357 hospital. As we noted above, you can also get involved with one of many citizen initiatives that have been cropping up over the past couple of years to collect food, clothing, and cash donations to help out the needy. Everyone could use a helping hand, so don’t fret too much about choosing the “right” organization.

Your Family

Your Imam may blast you with some “honor thy parents” sermon one Friday, but he clearly hasn’t met yours. We’re hoping some of our readers are young enough to remember the sting of a “tiger parent” — those parents who won’t settle for anything less than perfection from their children. Author Michelle Kuo gives her 14 tips for disobeying those tiger parents for the NYT.

Your Style

Ramadan is also the default Muslim fashion season. Mns of people in Muslim-majority countries grew up with memories of excitement over the new clothes they receive during Ramadan, eagerly counting down to the first day of Eid to wear their festive outfits. New wardrobes can even begin earlier on in Ramadan, as the month turns into a season of “heavy-duty socializing,” Saba Imtiaz writes for Racked. “For the truly dedicated, planning what you’ll wear throughout Ramadan starts weeks in advance,” she says.Dubai-based Bambah boutique founder Maha Abdul Rasheed also points out the Ramadan-associated shopping trends. “There’s a different outing every day, and ladies love to dress up for it,” she explains to Glamour’s Zoe Weiner. Some Muslim women like to celebrate the holy month in modest fashion, according to Abdul Rasheed, who designs conservative “loose styles with longer hems and sleeves.”

Enterprise is a daily publication of Enterprise Ventures LLC, an Egyptian limited liability company (commercial register 83594), and a subsidiary of Inktank Communications. Summaries are intended for guidance only and are provided on an as-is basis; kindly refer to the source article in its original language prior to undertaking any action. Neither Enterprise Ventures nor its staff assume any responsibility or liability for the accuracy of the information contained in this publication, whether in the form of summaries or analysis. © 2021 Enterprise Ventures LLC.

Enterprise is available without charge thanks to the generous support of Commercial International Bank (tax ID: 204-891-949), the largest private-sector bank in Egypt; EFG Hermes (tax ID: 200-178-385), the leading financial services corporation in frontier emerging markets; SODIC (tax ID: 212-168-002), a leading Egyptian real estate developer; SomaBay (tax ID: 204-903-300), our Red Sea holiday partner; Infinity (tax ID: 474-939-359), the ultimate way to power cities, industries, and homes directly from nature right here in Egypt; CIRA (tax ID: 200-069-608), the leading providers of K-12 and higher level education in Egypt; Orascom Construction (tax ID: 229-988-806), the leading construction and engineering company building infrastructure in Egypt and abroad; and Act Financial (tax ID: 493-924-612), the leading activist investor in Egypt; and Abu Auf (tax ID: 584-628-846), the leading health foodmaker in Egypt and the region.