Saturday, 19 September 2015

Meet your new Council of Ministers

Sherif Ismail met his deadline: President Abdel Fattah El Sisi swore-in a new cabinet on Saturday, led by Prime Minister Sherif Ismail. Notably, there are three fewer ministers in cabinet this time around (33 vs. 36 in the Mahlab government), with the sovereign and economic group posts remaining unchanged, save for the Ministry of Trade and Industry. Also worth noting: We’re apparently at the end of our national transition period, because the Ministry of Transitional Justice is gone (and Mohamed El Heneidy with it), replaced by the Ministry for Legal and Parliamentary Affairs.

Download Ittihadiya’s full list of ministers (with complete names and official transliterations) here in DOC format.

We’ve triaged the list below to make it a bit easier to decipher who’s back, who’s now and which ministries have been merged.

Returning ministers

Ministry Minister
Ministry of Defense Sedki Sobhi
Ministry of Interior Magdi Abdel-Ghaffar
Ministry of Foreign Affairs Sameh Shoukry
Ministry of Justice Ahmed El Zend
Ministry of Finance Hani Qadri Demian
Ministry of Investment Ashraf Salman
Ministry of Housing, Utilities and Urban Development Mostafa Madbouli
Ministry of State for Environmental Affairs Khaled Fahmy
Ministry of Electricity and Renewable Energy Mohamed Shaker
Ministry of Water Resources and Irrigation Hossam Moghazi
Ministry of Supply and Internal Trade Khaled Hanafy
Ministry of Religious Endowments Mukhtar Gomaa
Ministry of Social Solidarity Ghada Wali
Ministry of State for Youth and Sports Khaled Abdel Aziz
Ministry of Civil Aviation Mohamed Hossam Kamel
Ministry of Planning and Administrative Reform Ashraf El-Araby
Ministry of State for Antiquities Mamdouh El Damaty


Newcomers to Cabinet / New to their post

Office Old New
Prime Minister Ibrahim Mahlab Sherif Ismail
Ministry of International Cooperation Naglaa el-Ahwany Sahar Nasr
Ministry of Culture Abdel-Wahed El-Nabawi Helmy El Namnam
Ministry of Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Ibrahim El-Heneidy Magdy El Agaty
Ministry of Transportation Hany Dahy Saad El Geyoushi
Ministry of Tourism Khaled Abbas Rami Mohamed Hisham Zaazou
Ministry of Agriculture and Land Reclamation Salah El-Din Helal Essam Fayed
Ministry of Communications and Information Technology Khaled Ali Negm Yasser El Qady
Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Resources Sherif Ismail Tarek El Molla
Ministry of Manpower Nahed Ashri Gamal Serour
Ministry of Industry, Trade and Small Industries Mounir Fakhry Abdel Nour Tarek Qabil Abdel Aziz
Minister of State for Military Production Ibrahim Younis Mohamed El Assar
Minister of State for Local Development Adel Labib Ahmed Zaki Badr
Ministry of State for Migration and Expatriates Affairs Nabila Makram Wasef



Old Ministry Post New Ministry Post
Ministry of Health Adel El-Adawi Ministry of Health and Population Ahmed Emad El Din Rady
Ministry of State for Population Hala Mohammed Youssef
Ministry of Higher Education Sayed Abdel Khaleq Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research Ashraf El Shihi
Ministry of Scientific Research Sherif Hamad
Ministry of Education Moheb El-Refai Ministry of Education and Technical Education Helaly El Sherbini
Ministry of Technical Training and Education Mohamed Ahmed Yousef



Enterprise is a daily publication of Enterprise Ventures LLC, an Egyptian limited liability company (commercial register 83594), and a subsidiary of Inktank Communications. Summaries are intended for guidance only and are provided on an as-is basis; kindly refer to the source article in its original language prior to undertaking any action. Neither Enterprise Ventures nor its staff assume any responsibility or liability for the accuracy of the information contained in this publication, whether in the form of summaries or analysis. © 2021 Enterprise Ventures LLC.

Enterprise is available without charge thanks to the generous support of EFG Hermes (tax ID: 200-178-385), the leading financial services corporation in frontier emerging markets; SODIC (tax ID: 212-168-002), a leading Egyptian real estate developer; SomaBay (tax ID: 204-903-300), our Red Sea holiday partner; Infinity (tax ID: 474-939-359), the ultimate way to power cities, industries, and homes directly from nature right here in Egypt; CIRA (tax ID: 200-069-608), the leading providers of K-12 and higher level education in Egypt; Orascom Construction (tax ID: 229-988-806), the leading construction and engineering company building infrastructure in Egypt and abroad; and Etisalat Misr (tax ID: 235-071-579), the leading telecoms provider in Egypt; and Abu Auf (tax ID: 584-628-846), the leading health foodmaker in Egypt and the region.