blackboard

الإثنين, 3 فبراير 2020

التعليم الشامل للجميع يخلق مكاسب اجتماعية واقتصادية كبرى

التعليم الشامل للجميع يخلق مكاسب اجتماعية واقتصادية كبرى. ولكن رغم الدعم الحكومي، لم يحصل المجتمع بعد على تلك المكاسب. التعليم الشامل لدمج ذوي الإعاقة وذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة في المنظومة التعليمية الرسمية أمر ضروري كي تستفيد البلاد من طاقة عمل هائلة تضم ملايين من الطاقات غير المستغلة، المعبرة أيضا عن قدرات اقتصادية كبرى. ووفقا لبيانات الأمم المتحدة فإن هناك 12 مليونا في مصر يعانون من إعاقات حسية أو فكرية، لا يزالوا يعانون من التمييز والإقصاء بشكل واسع في أماكن التعليم والتدريب المهني. وهو ما يخلق حاجزا أمام التقدم للوظائف وشغلها، حسبما تقول منظمة العمل الدولية.

ما الفوائد المالية التي يجلبها هذا الدمج؟ يسعى اتحاد الصناعات المصرية إلى تقدير قيمة هذا الدمج، حسبما يقول السيد التركي مستشار اتحاد الصناعات ومؤسس مبادرة تبادل شراكات المسؤولية المجتمعية. ولكن بيانات البلدان الأخرى توضح لنا أهمية هذا الدمج للاقتصاد، ففي الولايات المتحدة تشير التقديرات بأن الناتج المحلي الإجمالي قد يرتفع بقيمة 25 مليار دولار إذا جرى دمج 1% إضافية فقط من الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة ضمن القوى العاملة، وفقا لتقرير أكسينشر لعام 2018.

انتشار الوصم الاجتماعي في مصر يؤثر أيضا بشدة على تقديم الخدمات للأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة. ووفقا لبعض التقديرات فإن 2% فقط من الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة يحصلون على أي نوع من الخدمات المخصصة لهم. ويرجع ذلك جزئيا إلى نقص المعلومات وعدم القدرة على تحمل التكاليف، ولكن يتفاقم كل ما سبق نتيجة الوصم الاجتماعي. وعادة ما تتأخر الأسر في تشخيص الإعاقات الخفية المحتملة لدى أبنائهم مثل التوحد وعسر القراءة، وذلك بسبب الخوف من أي وصم اجتماعي، حسبما تقول مها هلالي، عضوة المجلس القومي لشؤون الإعاقة. وهذا على الرغم من أهمية التدخل المبكر في تلك الحالات.

ويوجد في مصر نحو 900 جمعية ومؤسسة لتعليم ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة، ومنها الجمعية المصرية لتقدم الأشخاص ذوى الإعاقة والتوحد التي تترأسها هلالي، وجمعية كاريتاس مصر. وتتنوع خدمات تلك الجمعيات من التدريب المهني إلى العمل مباشرة مع مقدمي الرعاية.

إذًا، فالرعاية المتخصصة تنحصر في مجموعة صغيرة من المؤسسات، تشمل أيضا بعض المدارس الخاصة مثل مدرسة الكونتننتال بالقاهرة. وتوفر تلك المدرسة خدمات تعليمية وما قبل التعليمية، وتشمل الأخيرة تدريبات مثل التوافق بين اليد والعين، وتدريبات السمع والكلام، والتواصل اللفظي وغير اللفظي، ومهارات التواصل الاجتماعي، لحوالي 40-50 طالبا يعانون من صعوبات في التعلم، وتلاميذ من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة بين سن 2.5 و18 سنة. وتضم أكاديمية هوب التي تأسست في عام 2018 نحو 26 تلميذا من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة، والذين يدرسون برامج متخصصة تتكون من ورش عمل في ستة مجالات وهي الأعمال الكتابية، والتصميم الجرافيكي، والطبخ، والنجارة، وزراعة النباتات، وصناعة الحلي والمجوهرات. ويقدم مركز مصادر التعلم الذي شاركت هلالي في تأسيسه، خدمات التشخيص والاستشارات في عدة مجالات، ومنها العلاج العصبي التطوري، وعلاج مشاكل النطق والتخاطب، والتحليل السلوكي، والتدريبات الحسية الحركية مثل العلاج الوظيفي. ويساعد المركز أيضا في دمج الأطفال في دور الحضانة للأطفال دون سن الرابعة، كما يقدم الدعم التعليمي للأطفال في المدارس العادية.

ولكن تلك الرعاية المتخصصة لها تكلفتها الباهظة، لذلك تبقى الاستدامة المالية لتلك المؤسسات قضية شائكة. بدأت الكثير من تلك المؤسسات من جانب آباء لأطفال من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة، وتؤسس تلك المؤسسات كجمعيات غير هادفة للربح، وذلك على الرغم من التكاليف المرتفعة للالتحاق بها. تتراوح الرسوم الدراسية في مدرسة الكونتننتال بالقاهرة للعام الدراسي 2020/2019 بين 51 ألف جنيه و85 ألف جنيه سنويا. وتضم الفروع الثلاثة للمدرسة: مدرسة الكونتننتال للغات، ومدرسة الكونتننتال الدولية ومدرسة الكونتننتال بالقاهرة، والأخيرة مخصصة لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة وتخدم بين 40 و50 طالبا. وتؤكد مدرسة الكونتننتال بالقاهرة على موقعها الإلكتروني أنها ليست "مشروعا تجاريا"، وتصف نائبة مدير المدرسة مي النمر الكونتننتال بأنها "مدرسة مكتفية ذاتيا". أما أكاديمية هوب فتبلغ رسومها الدراسية السنوية نحو 55 ألف جنيه، حسبما تقول مديرة المدرسة نجلاء أحمد، وذلك مع العلم بأن الرسوم قد ترتفع إذا كان التلميذ يحتاج إلى اهتمام مكثف وفردي. وتشير أحمد إلى أن هذا الدخل يكمل رأس المال الذي وضعه مؤسسو الأكاديمية. وتوضح أن رواتب الموظفين تمثل 50% من التكاليف التشغيلية، والـ 50% الأخرى تتمثل في تكاليف الأنشطة والأدوات والمعدات ومختلف أنواع الرعاية العلاجية المقدمة.

التحول نحو المزيد من الدمج وإتاحة الخدمات يفيد الجميع: تظهر الدراسات أن التعليم الجيد الشامل للجميع يؤدي إلى نتائج أكاديمية وسلوكية لجميع الأطفال، وبتكلفة أقل من التعليم المنفصل. تقول هلالي إن تكلفة تعليم طفل واحد من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة في مدرسة متخصصة تساوي تكلفة تعليم أربعة أطفال لا يعانون من صعوبات في التعلم بالمدارس العادية. ولذلك، ترى هلالي أن الحل الأفضل والأكثر فعالية من حيث التكلفة، هو دعم التعليم الشامل للجميع، والتركيز على أن تعمل جميع المدارس على دمج الأطفال ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة أو ذوي الإعاقة لديها. أما فيما يتعلق بتقديم ودمج ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة وذوي الإعاقة ضمن القوى العاملة، فإن إعطاء الأولوية لسهولة الوصول إلى الخدمة يعني غالبا تطوير منتج أو خدمة أفضل للجميع، حسبما يقول بيتر فريملين مستشار التعليم الشامل للجميع. يقول فريملين "يرى بعض الناس أن الرسائل النصية اخترعت لمساعدة الصم والبكم، لا أعرف إذا كان ذلك صحيحا بالفعل، ولكن هو أمر منطقي. وهو مثال للتنوع الذي يؤدي إلى حلول أكثر إبداعا تعود بالنفع على الجميع.

وتكللت الجهود الحكومية في هذا المجال بإصدار قانون حقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة في عام 2018. وتسعى وزارة التربية والتعليم منذ سنوات إلى دمج الطلبة من ذوي الإعاقة والاحتياجات الخاصة في المدارس العادية. ويعزز القانون الصادر في عام 2018 هذا التوجه، وتنص المادة 36 من القانون على قبول الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة بنسبة لا تقل عن 5% من المقبولين في المؤسسات التعليمية الحكومية وغير الحكومية بأنواعها، وأن يطبق نظام الدمج للطلاب ذوي الإعاقة بالفصول النظامية بمدارس التعليم العام الحكومية، والمدارس الخاصة، ومدارس الفرصة الثانية، والمدارس الرسمية للغات، ومدارس الإعداد المهني والمدارس التي تدرس مناهج خاصة في جميع مراحل التعليم قبل الجامعي ومرحلة رياض الأطفال. وتنص المادة 40 من القانون باتخاذ الوزارة المختصة بالتعليم العالي والبحث العلمي بالتعاون مع المجلس الأعلى للجامعات على إجراءات قبول الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة، والتي لا تقل عن نسبة 5% من المقبولين بالجامعات، وإعفائهم من شرط التوزيع الجغرافي، وإعفاء غير القادرين منهم من المصروفات الدراسية. ويؤكد القانون على الشمول القائم على مبادئ التساوي في حقوق المواطنة، والتحول بعيدا عن فكرة أن الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة هم فئة بحاجة إلى إعانات خيرية. وهي خطوة غير مسبوقة لتعزيز حقوق ذوي الإعاقة في مصر، حسبما تقول هلالي.

وهناك أيضا نماذج هادفة للربح في هذا المجال تنجح في أنشطة التدريب والدمج بأماكن العمل. تضم مؤسسة حلم، وهي مؤسسة اجتماعية لديها ذراعا ربحية وأخرى غير ربحية تعملان جنبا إلى جنب. وقامت المؤسسة بتقديم أكثر من 5 آلاف جلسة تدريبية لنحو 900 شركة ومؤسسة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط، حول التوظيف الشامل للجميع، وتمكين الوصول المؤسسي، وتدريب الموظفين ذوي الإعاقة. وتوفر المؤسسة أيضا دورات تدريبية منتظمة لذوي الإعاقة لمساعدتهم على تطوير مهاراتهم لتلبية احتياجات سوق العمل. وهناك احتياج كبير بالسوق من جانب الشركات للتزود بأدوات تساعدهم في التغلب على مشاكل تمكين الوصول بالنسبة لذوي الإعاقة، وفتح مجالات ضخمة للمنظمات الهادفة للربح، وفقا ما ذكرته أمينة الساعي الرئيسة التنفيذية لمؤسسة حلم.

ويتعين على الشركات النظر إلى ما هو أبعد من المسؤولية المجتمعية. تعيد منظمة العمل الدولية بالتعاون مع اتحاد الصناعات المصرية فتح فرع الشبكة العالمية للأعمال والإعاقة. ومن بين أكثر التحديات التي تواجه المنظمة والاتحاد هو إساءة بعض الشركات استغلال حصة الـ 5% للتوظيف بالشركات والمقررة قانونا، حسبما يقول مستشار اتحاد الصناعات السيد التركي. وهناك العديد من الشركات المصرية لم تدرك بعد القيمة الاقتصادية لموظفيها ذوي الإعاقة. وتشير وثيقة ممولة من شراكة الأمم المتحدة لتعزيز حقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة إلى ظاهرة منتشرة نسبيا بين الشركات المصرية بتسديد تلك الخانة من خلال التوظيف الوهمي ومنح رواتب لأشخاص لا يعملون فعليا لديها". ومع ذلك، توجد شركات تحرص على دمج ذوي الإعاقة دمج قوة عملها بصورة فعلية ومن خلال شراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص، مثل شركة أمريكانا مصر، والعربي، وفودافون مصر. وتقول الرئيسة التنفيذي لمؤسسة حلم وكذلك مستشار اتحاد الصناعات إن هذه الأمثلة المباشرة هي الدليل الأوضح على إمكانية الاستفادة من قدرات ذوي الإعاقة.

حسنا، كيف يمكن تطبيق تلك الجهود في قطاع التعليم؟ إذا كانت مصر تريد جني الثمار الاقتصادية من دمج ذوي الإعاقة، فإن هناك ضرورة لتعظيم تطوير المهارات وتمكين الوصول بالنسبة للأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة وذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة. ويقول فريملين إن التعاون بين المجتمع المدني والقطاع الخاص والحكومة أثبت أنه الطريقة الأكثر فعالية لتحقيق هذا الدمج. ويتوقع فريملين أن تكون المنظمات الربحية قادرة على تكملة وتوسيع نطاق عمل الكيانات غير الربحية الهادفة إلى تقديم خدمات التعليم المخصص لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة وذوي الإعاقة.

الشركات الكبرى أيضا تعزز جهودها في هذا المجال. العديد من الشركات الكبرى (ومن بينها العربي، والسويدي، وأمريكانا، وسيمنس) تعمل مع وزارة التربية والتعليم من أجل إنشاء مدارس متخصصة في التعليم الفني توفر التدريب المهني وفقا لمنهجيات جديدة، حسبما يقول التركي. ويضيف التركي أن واحدة من تلك المؤسسات وحدها تأسست باستثمارات تبلغ 50 مليون جنيه، وإذا استطاعت تلك المدارس تخصيص عدد معين من الأماكن لذوي الإعاقة، ستكون خطوة كبيرة نحو الدمج وخلق مصدر متجدد من الطلبة المؤهلين للتوظيف.

الإثنين, 3 فبراير 2020

أبرز أخبار قطاع التعليم في مصر خلال الأسبوع الماضي

فيما يلي أهم أخبار قطاع التعليم في مصر خلال أسبوع:

  • سي أي كابيتال تدير 4 طروحات بالبورصة المصرية هذا العام، أحدها لشركة تنشط في قطاع التعليم، والتي من المتوقع أن تكون شركة تعليم لخدمات الإدارة (تعليم).
  • المحكمة الإدارية العليا تؤيد حكما بمنع عضوات هيئة التدريس بجامعة القاهرة نهائيا من ارتداء النقاب.
  • وزارة التعليم العالي توقف سفر المنح والبعثات إلى الصين لحين انتهاء أزمة فيروس كورونا، و"التربية والتعليم" توجه بتفعيل الإجراءات الوقائية في منشآتها لمواجهة الفيروس.
  • منظمة العالم الإسلامي للتربية والعلوم والثقافة (إيسيسكو) تنشئ وقفا تنمويا بقيمة 500 مليون دولار لتمويل البرامج التي تقدمها في مجالات التربية والثقافة والعلوم الاجتماعية والعلوم التقنية للدول الأعضاء، بما في ذلك مصر.

هذه النشرة اليومية تقوم بإصدارها شركة انتربرايز فنشرز لإعداد وتطوير المحتوى الإلكتروني (شركة ذات مسئولية محدودة – سجل تجاري رقم 83594).

الملخصات الإخبارية والمحتويات الواردة بنشرة «انتربرايز» معروضة للاطلاع فقط، ولا ينبغي اتخاذ أية قرارات جوهرية دون الرجوع إلى مصدر الخبر بلغته الأصلية. كما أن محتويات النشرة تقدم “كما هي – دون استقطاع”، ولا تتحمل الشركة أو أي من العاملين لديها أو أية مسئولية تجاه دقة أو صلاحية البيانات الواردة بالنشرة باعتبارها ملخصات إخبارية.2018 Enterprise Ventures LLC ©

blackboard

Monday, 3 February 2020

Egypt risks missing out on economic opportunities of inclusive education

Inclusive education brings substantial economic and social benefits. But despite gov’t support, Egypt risks missing out. Inclusion of people with disabilities (PWD) and people with special educational needs (SEN) in the mainstream education system is key to Egypt’s workforce tapping into a gravely underused talent pool, with sizable economic results. But the estimated 12 mn people living with a sensory or intellectual disability in Egypt — according to UN data cited by global business disability inclusion nonprofit organization Disability:IN — still face discrimination and widespread exclusion from education and professional training. This forms a major barrier to recruitment and employment, according to the International Labor Organization.

Just what kind of financial benefits does inclusion bring? The Federation of Egyptian Industries (FEI) is attempting to quantify this for Egypt, says Senior Advisor El Sayed Torky. But as the process is nascent, a look at other economies is highly revealing. The US could see a USD 25 bn boost in GDP with the inclusion of just a further 1% of PWD in the labor force, according to a 2018 Accenture report (pdf).

There is a pervasive stigma in Egypt, and it severely impacts service provision. It is estimated that only 2% of PWD in Egypt have access to any kind of service. This is partly due to a lack of information and issues of affordability, but is compounded by stigmatization. Often the diagnosis of a hidden disability (such as autism or dyslexia) is delayed because families fear the stigma of their children having any form of disability, says consultant and advocate Maha Helali. This is in spite of the fact that early intervention could reduce developmental gaps.

There are around 900 institutions for SEN in Egypt, estimates Helali. These include Caritas SETI and Advance, which focuses on supporting people with autism and other disabilities. These services range from vocational training to working directly with caregivers.

So the bulk of specialist care falls to a small group of institutions. These include private schools such as the Continental School of Cairo (CSC). They provide tailored academic and pre-academic services — the latter comprising areas such as hand-eye coordination, auditory skills, verbal and non-verbal communication, and socialization — to some 40-50 students with learning difficulties and SEN between the ages of 2.5 and 18. Hope Academy, founded in 2018, currently has 26 students with SEN who follow tailored programs comprising workshops in six areas: Clerical, graphic design, cooking, woodwork, gardening and jewelry-making. The Learning Resource Center, of which Helali is a founding partner, offers diagnosis and consultation in a range of areas, including neuro-developmental therapy, speech and language therapy, behavioral analysis, and sensory motor services such as occupational therapy. It also supports integration into nurseries for children under four and offers educational support to students in mainstream schools.

But specialist care comes at a price, and financial sustainability remains a thorny issue. Many of these institutions were started by parents of children with SEN and are registered as nonprofit entities, despite often having high attendance costs. CSC’s regular 2019-2020 school fees were listed as ranging from EGP 51k – 85k per year. Collectively, all three branches (Continental Language School (CLS), Continental International School (CIS), and the Continental School of Cairo (CSC) which is the dedicated SEN school) serve approximately 1,500 students, with CSC serving 40-50. CSC stresses on its website that it is “not a commercial venture,” with Deputy Principal Maey Elnimer describing it as a “self-sufficient” school. Fees for Hope Academy are in the range of EGP 55k per year, says Principal Nagla Ahmed, although they can increase if the student in question needs extensive one-on-one attention. This income is supplemented as needed by capital put in by the organization’s founders. Ahmed notes that roughly 50% of Hope Academy’s operational costs go towards employing teachers, while the other 50% is used for activities, tools, equipment, and different kinds of therapeutic care.

A shift towards greater inclusivity and accessibility would benefit everyone: Quality inclusive education brings better behavioral and academic outcomes for all children, at a lower cost than segregated education, studies have shown (pdf). Helali estimates the cost of teaching one child with SEN in a specialist school as being equal to the cost of teaching four typically developing children in a mainstream school. So the best and most cost-effective solution would be to support inclusive education and have all schools focus on including children with disabilities or SEN, she argues. And when it comes to both SEN provision and the inclusion of PWD in the workforce, prioritizing accessibility often means developing a product or service that is better for everyone, argues consultant Peter Fremlin. “Sometimes people argue that text messaging was invented for the deaf. I don’t know if that’s technically true, but the pattern is quite believable. And it’s an example of diversity leading to more creative solutions that benefit everyone.”

Government efforts to promote inclusivity have been fueled by the 2018 law on the rights of persons with disabilities. The Education Ministry has long sought to integrate students with disabilities and SEN into mainstream schools (pdf). The new law has boosted this drive, mandating that PWD comprise 5% of the positions at schools and universities and 5% of the workforce of public and private companies that have more than 50 employees. The law emphasizes inclusiveness based on principles of equal citizenship ― marking a shift away from the idea of PWD as being a group in need of charitable support. Being the first of its kind, the law is an important step for Egypt, says Helali.

And for-profit models work when it comes to training and workplace integration. Helm, a social enterprise comprising a for-profit and a nonprofit arm which work in tandem, has given over 5k corporate training sessions to some 900 institutions in the region on inclusive hiring, organizational accessibility, and training needs for employees with disabilities. It also provides regular training sessions for PWD to help them develop their skills to meet the needs of the labor market. There is a substantial market need to provide companies with the tools to overcome their accessibility issues, opening up huge space for for-profit organizations to grow and scale, says Helm’s CEO Amena Elsaie.

Businesses need to look at this beyond CSR: The FEI and the ILO are restarting the Egypt branch of the Global Business and Disability Network. Among the most insidious challenges they face is the complete misuse of the 5% quota by some companies, says Torky. Many Egyptian companies have yet to recognize the economic value of their employees with disabilities. As this UNPRPD-funded document (pdf) notes, “one relatively common practice is for companies to fill the quota in a superficial way, with people receiving an allowance or salary while not being expected to work.” However, companies including Americana, El Araby, and Vodafone Egypt are integrating employees with disabilities into their workforce in a real way ― often through public-private partnerships. This direct demonstration of applicability is the most effective argument they can make use of, say both Elsaie and Torky.

So how could this knowledge be applied to the education sector? If Egypt is to reap the economic benefits of inclusion, greater access to education and skills development for PWD and people with SEN is a must. Cooperation between civil society, the private sector and government has proven the most constructive way of doing this, says Fremlin. For-profit organizations might be able to help complement and scale the work of nonprofit entities offering education services, he speculates.

Big business is also stepping up: Meanwhile, several big companies (including El Araby, Elsewedy, Americana, and Siemens) are working with the Education Ministry to set up specialized technical schools providing vocational training based on new methodologies, says Torky. One of these institutions alone was established with an investment of EGP 50 mn. If schools of this kind could allocate a certain number of places to people with disabilities, it would be a great step towards inclusion and create a pipeline of very employable students, he adds.

Monday, 3 February 2020

Your top education stories of the week:

Your top education stories in a week of slim pickings for education news in Egypt:

  • CI Capital said it has 4 EGX IPOs in the works for this year, one of which will be an education firm, which we expect will be Taaleem for Consulting and Educational Services.
  • The Supreme Administrative Court upheld Cairo University’s Niqab ban last week.
  • CORONA WATCH (education edition): The Higher Education Ministry pressed pause on Chinese university scholarships, while schools received preventative hygiene protocols from the Education Ministry amid the coronavirus scare.
  • The Islamic World Organization for Education, Science and Culture (ISESCO) established a USD 500 mn endowment that will contribute to supporting educational, cultural, and scientific initiatives for its member states, including Egypt.

Enterprise is a daily publication of Enterprise Ventures LLC, an Egyptian limited liability company (commercial register 83594), and a subsidiary of Inktank Communications. Summaries are intended for guidance only and are provided on an as-is basis; kindly refer to the source article in its original language prior to undertaking any action. Neither Enterprise Ventures nor its staff assume any responsibility or liability for the accuracy of the information contained in this publication, whether in the form of summaries or analysis. © 2018 Enterprise Ventures LLC.