الجمعة, 2 نوفمبر 2018

صحتك..ثروتك

البداية

نقدم لك: ثروتك

ثروتك هو موجز من إنتربرايز مخصص لك: لقيادات الشركات ورواد الأعمال والمطورين العقاريين الذين يعرفون أن الوقت لا يعني المال، ولكن الوقت والمال مواد أولية للأمور الأهم في الحياة وعلى رأسها عائلتك.

مرة واحدة في كل شهر، بالشراكة مع أصدقائنا في قطاع إدارة الثروات بالبنك التجاري الدولي CIB Wealth، سنقدم لك مجموعة مختارة من الأفكار والنصائح والقصص الملهمة، والتي ستساعدك على الاستفادة من وقتك بالقدر الأكبر، وتحسين ثروتك، وبناء حياة أفضل مع من تحب.

وكما هو الحال دائما، يسعدنا الاستماع إلى قرائنا. أرسل لنا أفكار لقصص، أو ملحوظات، أو نصائح، أو اقتراحات، على البريد الإلكتروني editorial@enterprise.press.

حياتك

إنه موسم العدوى وأدوار البرد، وهو ما يجعلنا في إنتربرايز حريصين للغاية بشأن كل ما يتعلق بصحتنا العامة، من وزننا، ونظامنا الغذائي وتماريننا الرياضية، وحتى صحتنا العقلية. كلما تعمقنا في هذا الموضوع، كلما أدركنا أن الحقيقة الصادمة وهي أن الحفاظ على نمط صحي يتطلب التزاما متشددا، ويصحب ذلك بعض الكآبة والمزاج السيئ. وهذه بعض القصص التي قد تعطيك الحافز للمواظبة على نمط حياة صحي.

كيف تفكر في التمرينات الرياضية: الخوف والشعور بالذنب الذي ينتابك عندما يذكرك أحدهم بضرورة الذهاب إلى الجيم هو في الأغلب ما يدفعك لعدم الذهاب. كلنا نعلم أن ممارسة التمارين الرياضية أمر إيجابي بالنسبة لنا، ولكن الحاجز الذهني الذي يمنعك هو إدراكك لكم الألم والطاقة التي يجب أن تبذلها في ممارسة تلك التمارين. تلك هي رؤية الكاتب دامون يانج في كتابه “كيف تفكر في التمارين الرياضية”. ويرى يانج أن المشكلة تكمن في العقلية التي تفصل العقل عن الجسد. “في العمل نحن عقول، في الجيم نحن أجساد”. يفند الكتاب هذا الفصل بين العقل والجسد من خلال التأكيد على أن التمارين الرياضية هي في الواقع نشاط ذهني. ويوضح للقراء فكرة أن التمارين الرياضية هي فرصة لتنمية عقولنا وأجسادنا في آن واحد.

فصل العقل عن الجسد: المشكلة ليست أننا لا نتمرن. في الواقع، هناك أعداد متزايدة من الناس أصبحت أكثر نشاطا وحرصا على صحتها أكثر من أي وقت مضى. المشكلة الحقيقية كما يطرحها يانج هي الثنائية. ” الثنائية هي فلسفة ترى العالم مقسما إلى جسد ونفس، جسم وعقل، مادة وروح”. وهذا يجعل الكثير من الناس ينظرون للياقة البدنية كأمر ميكانيكي بحت، دون النظر لفوائده الحقيقية. ويعتقدون أيضا أن الأذكياء كسالى والنشيطين أغبياء.

العقل أم العضلات: نحن بحاجة لتجاوز هذه الثنائية، وإلا لن يكون لدينا دافع مستمر لجعل التمارين مصاحبة لنا مدى الحياة. يستشهد الكاتب بأمثلة من الفلسفات القديمة والحديثة لدعم رؤيته بأن التمارين الرياضية يمكن أن تؤدي إلى تنمية الإنسان جسديا وروحيا. وتشمل تلك الأمثلة:

  • فريدريك نيتشه: “كل الأفكار العظيمة تولد أثناء المشي”.
  • تشارلز داروين اعتاد على المشي لساعات يوميا على الممشى الرملي الشهير بجوار منزله كي يفكر، ولعب ذلك دورا هاما في صياغته لنظرية التطور. (شاهد 2:30 دقيقة)
  • قدماء الإغريق: ممارسة التمارين تنمي الفضائل (مثل الاتساق مع الذات والتواضع)، وتجلب السعادة، إلى جانب الأجساد القوية.
  • ودرس آخر عظيم من الإغريق: بينما نشكل وننحت أجسادنا، نخلق نسخة أكثر دقة من أنفسنا.
  • ووفقا لإغريقي آخر هو أفلاطون، فإن المدينة الفاضلة تضم فنون الدفاع عن النفس وألعاب وتدريبات للمواطنين على الرقص. وكان أفلاطون مصارعا قويا قبل أن يهوى الفلسفة.
  • وأهم ما يريد الكاتب قوله: “لا تترك عقلك ورائك عندما تمارس التمارين. وعندما تمارس التمارين حاول أن تفعل ذلك من أجل التجربة نفسها”.

ويمكنك هنا مشاهدة تقديم للكتاب من المؤلف (18:28 دقيقة)

وينقلنا ذلك إلى الأموال التي نهدرها سنويا للاشتراك في الجيم لنذهب إليه مرة أو مرتين على الأكثر. ربما أصبحت تدرك أن تلك الاستراتيجية غير ناجحة ولا تجبرك على الالتزام في التمرين. أو ربما تكون ناجحة في البداية، وتجعلك ملتزما لفترة. ولكن عاجلا أو آجلا يصبح الروتين خانقا ويصبح عدم تحقيق التقدم محبطا. هذا واحد من الأسباب العديدة التي توضح لك لماذا ينبغي أن تلغي اشتراكك في الجيم الآن. وبعد أن تهنئ نفسك بأنك فعلت ذلك، ابدأ بالتفكير في الطرق البسيطة والمتاحة لإدخال التمارين الرياضية في نمط حياتك اليومي.

إذا كنت تقوم بعمل مكتبي، ننصحك بأن تبدأ بالأساسيات. استخدم السلالم بدلا من المصعد كلما كان ممكنا، أو اركن سيارتك بعيدا قدر الإمكان ولكن في حدود المعقول. يمكن أن تضبط المنبه ليذكرك كل ساعة أن تقوم من على كرسيك، أو استخدم تطبيق لحساب عدد خطواتك. وإذا أردت أن تتحدى نفسك قم باستخدام الحمام في دور أو مبنى آخر. ولخص موقع فيريويل فيت كل ما سبق إلى جانب بعض النصائح الإضافية. أما واشنطن بوست، فقامت بتجربة 12 تمرينا رياضيا لمدة أسبوع وعرضت مجموعة من الرسوم التوضيحية تعرض أي من تلك التمارين يمكن للشخص العادي ممارستها أثناء عمله.

التخلص من الإزعاج بالتمارين: إذا كان هناك أحد بالمنزل يزعجك دائما بتذكيرك بضرورة القيام بالأعمال المنزلية، فقد تكون هذه فرصة لضرب عصفورين بحجر واحد. استخدم المكنسة الكهربائية وتحرك داخل المنزل. هل تقضي وقتا طويلا في الطهي؟ هذه فرصة مثالية لتقوية عضلات أسفل الظهر، وتقوية عضلات الساق عند غسل الصحون. ولا مانع من بعض تمارين القرفصاء أثناء جمع الملابس من سلة الغسيل. يقدم موقع ريدرز دايجيست قائمة كاملة بالتمرينات المصحوبة بالأعمال المنزلية، ويقدم موقع ويب إم دي قائمة أخرى بـ 15 تمرين يمكنك ممارستها خلال القيام بنشاطاتك اليومية.

ترفّع عن تناول كل ما هو لذيذ وحلو ويسد الشرايين: في الجانب الغذائي، وبدلا من إزعاجك بالحديث عن ضرورة تجنب الأطعمة الشهية غير الصحية، سنناقش كيف يمكن أن تخدع عقلك كي تأكل ما هو مفيد. ليست مهمة سهلة، لأننا نميل بيولوجيا إلى الأطعمة الضارة بالنسبة لنا. الشوكولاتة على سبيل المثال تؤدي إلى إفراز هرمون الإندورفين بالجسم وهي مادة طبيعية مسببة للسعادة ومخففة للألم، في حين تشتهر الكربوهيدرات بالتحكم في مستوى السيروتونين في الجسم، وهي مادة أخرى تسبب السعادة وتخفف التوتر. وعلى الرغم من أن استمتاعك بقطعة من الشوكولاتة بين الحين والآخر سيجعلك هادئا من داخلك، ولكن المفتاح الحقيقي للحفاظ على مزاج جيد لمدة طويلة هو اتباع نظام غذائي صحي ومتوازن. النظام الغذائي الصحي هو أمر جيد أيضا لصحتك العامة ويساعدك أيضا على الوقاية من أعراض الاكتئاب والتوتر. عندما تشعر بالارتياح، ستجد أن من الأسهل عليك اتباع نظام غذائي صحي، وهو بدوره سيساعده على استمرار الشعور بالارتياح، حسبما تقول قناة بيتر هيلث.

طريقة تقديم الطعام ستساعدك على تقبل الأطعمة الصحية بسهولة. بشكل عام، يزيد استمتاع الناس بمذاق الطعام إذا تم تقديمه بطريقة جذابة. ووفقا لدراسة، أعدها باحثون بجامعة مونتكلير ستيت ومعهد الطهي الأمريكي فإن طريقة تقديم الطعام يمكن أن يكون أداة مهمة في زيادة تقبل الأطعمة الصحية.

تناول السلطات بصفة مستمرة سيكون أسهل إذا كان متاحا لديك الكثير من الوصفات الشهية، حتى لا تنحصر خياراتك في طبق ممل ملئ بالأوراق الخضراء كل ليلة. وهذه بعض من الوصفات المفضلة بالنسبة لنا، والتي تشمل الدجاج المشوي مع الباذنجان وبذور السمسم، أو سلطة الكوب المتنوعة من نيويورك تايمز، أو هذه التشكيلة من وصفات مارثا ستيوارت والتي تشمل كل شيء من الحساء والأطباق الرئيسية وحتى طريقة عمل أشهى الحلويات بطريقة صحية.

إذا كان عليك التوقف عن تناول شيء واحد فقط، فيجب أن يكون السكر. وعلى الرغم من إنه لا يصنف كمخدر خطير، فإن السكر يحمل الكثير من صفات المخدرات: إنه يغير مزاج المستهلك، وله تأثيرات ضارة طويلة المدى على الصحة، ويخلق نوعا من التعلق به يتركك محتاجا إلى “جرعة” أخرى منه، حسبما كتب جاري تاوبس في صحيفة الجارديان. وكتب سيدني مينتز “أن المؤرخين عادة ما يعتبرون السكر مثل مخدر مجازي. وتلك السكريات، وخاصة التي تحتوي على سكروز عالي التكرير، تنتج تأثيرات فسيولوجية غريبة الغاية … ولكن تلك التأثيرات ليست مرئية رؤى العين، ولا تدوم لوقت طويل مثل الكحوليات والمشروبات المنبهة. إنها قد تسبب تغيرات سريعة في معدل التنفس وفي لون البشرة، وما إلى ذلك.

التخلص من السكر لشهر واحد سنويا يمكن أن يساعدك على تقدير الكمية الأساسية التي تحتاجها، وهو ما يجبرك على اتباع عادات صحية أفضل تدوم معك لوقت أطول، حسبما تقول صحيفة نيويورك تايمز. “الأوقات غير السارة دون سكر مؤقتة، ويمكن تحملها. وبعض الفوائد تدوم طويلا بعد انتهاء هذا الشهر”.

 لماذا يجب عليك خلق بيئة عمل صحية لنفسك قبل جسدك؟ إذا كنت صاحب عمل، يتعين عليك أن تعي جيدا أن خلق بيئة عمل صحية للعقل قد تكون الطريقة الأفضل للنمو. فالمزيد والمزيد من الموظفين حول العالم يحصلون على عطلات لأسباب تتعلق بالأمراض النفسية والعقلية أكثر من الأمراض الجسدية التقليدية، وفقا لما ذكره الموقع الإلكتروني لمجلة فوربس. وفي الصورة الأكبر للاقتصاد، تسببت الأمراض النفسية والعقلية في خسائر للاقتصاد العالمي تقدر بنحو تريليون دولار مع معاناة نحو 300 مليون شخصا من الاكتئاب بحسب بيانات منظمة الصحة العالمية. لذا إن كنت من أصحاب الأعمال وتبحث عن استدامة نمو أعمالك، ربما يتعين عليك الاهتمام بالصحة النفسية والعقلية لموظفيك وتقديم الدعم اللازم لهم إذا ما احتاجوا إليه.

وعلى الطرف الأخر من المعادلة، إذا ما كنت موظفا في شركة ما وتبحث عن الصحة النفسية والعقلية دون الحاجة إلى تدخل من رب عملك، نقدم هنا لك هذه المجموعة من النصائح:

  • اهتم بنفسك: حصولك على وقت خاص بك ضروري للغاية من أجل الحفاظ على صحتك النفسية. إذا كنت من نوعية الأشخاص الذين لا يحصلون على عطلات من وقت لأخر، ربما يتعين عليك التوقف عن هذا الأمر ولا تنتظر أن يعرض عليك مديرك الحصول على عطلة. بادر وأطلب عطلتك بنفسك.
  • أطلب المساعدة: لا تجد غضاضة على الإطلاق في طلب المساعدة من الأخرين إذا ما شعرت أن صحتك العقلية والنفسية تؤثر على أدائك لمهام عملك، أما إذا كانت الاضطرابات النفسية والعقلية ناجمة عن عملك، فيجب أن تتحدث عن ذلك صراحة لا تخشى شيء، إذ أظهرت البيانات أن 3 من كل 5 موظفين أصيبو بمشاكل تتعلق بالصحة النفسية بسبب العمل.
  • تعزيز المعرفة بالصحة النفسية: إذا ما كنت صاحب عمل ربما يتعين عليك نشر الوعي حول أهمية الصحة النفسية في أوساط موظفيك.
  • لا تجلس طوال اليوم على مكتبك: إذا كان وقتك بالعمل يسمح لك بتصفح وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، فإن الأمر الأهم هنا هو مغادرة مكتبك لخمس دقائق على الأقل واستنشاق هواء نظيف والوقوف في الشمس لبضع لحظات.
  • آلية للدعم والمساعدة داخل الشركة قد يكون أمرا جيدا لمساعدة الموظفين للتغلب على المشاكل المتعلقة بالصحة النفسية.
  • ربما يتعين عليكم أيضا قراءة هذا العدد من نشرة “ثروتك” الذي يقدم المزيد من الخطوات للحفاظ على الصحة النفسية.

لا يوجد أهم من النوم 6 إلى 8 ساعات يوميا: لا يهم إن كنت تتمتع بصحة بدنية جيدة أو لديك عادات غذائية جيدة، إذا مالم تحظى بفترة نوم يومية تتراوح ما بين 6 و8 ساعات من النوم المتواصل يوميا. وبغض النظر عما تقوم به من أعمال، فإن عدم النوم لمدة كافية يوميا قد ينجم عنه نتائج صحية كارثية. ووجدت دراسة أعدها الباحثون في جامعة لودفيج ماكسيميليان لأنماط النوم والاستيقاظ لأكثر من 65 ألف شخص أن الساعات البيولوجية لأجسادنا هي أفضل شيء لتحديد عدد ساعات النوم التي نحتاجها يوميا، وفقا لما ذكره موقع “Nautilus. ووجدت الدراسة أن استخدام المنبهات للاستيقاظ للذهاب إلى العمل أو المدرسة قد يؤدي إلى اضطرابات صحية جمة وأمراض عديدة من بينها عسر الهضم والزهايمر وحتى السرطان.

ولكن هل يعطينا هذا الأمر مبررا للاستغراق في النوم لساعات طويلة؟ مجرد شعورنا بالإرهاق يعطينا المبرر للنوم لساعات طويلة قد تكون كافية أكثر من اللازم لأجسادنا، فحتى النوم لساعات طويلة له تأثيرات سلبية على الصحة كما هو الحال مع قلة النوم. فوجد الباحثون في دراسة لأنماط النوم لنحو 10 آلاف شخص العام الماضي إن النوم لمدة زمنية أكثر من 8 ساعات له نفس التأثيرات السلبية على الصحة لقلة النوم، وفقا لما ذكره موقع “نيو أطلس“. وخلصت نتائج الدراسة أن نتائج أنماط النوم المختلفة تتشابه في التأثير بين قلة النوم عن 6 ساعات وزيادة النوم عن 8 ساعات.

تمتع بوجبة صحية وممارسة الرياضة بخصم يصل إلى 15% في بالم هيلز السادس من أكتوبر:  هذا هو الوقت المناسب للعيش بصورة صحية وممارسة الرياضة في مركز رياضي على أعلى المستويات مزود بحمام سباحة أوليمبي داخل أروقة نادي بالم هيلز بمدينة السادس من أكتوبر. وتعاقد البنك التجاري الدولي مع النادي لتقديم الخدمة المميزة لعملاء “ويلث” بخصم يصل إلى 15% لحاملي بطاقة الائتمان البلاتينية مع امكانية تقسيط مصاريف العضوية على سنتين بدون فوائد.

أهم 5 أخبار خلال شهر أكتوبر

  • تأجيل طروحات الخريف والشتاء بعد أن قررت ثلاث شركات خاص إرجاء طرح أسهمها تأجيل إطلاق برنامج الطروحات الحكومية.
  • تراجع مؤشر البورصة الرئيسي بنسبة 3.6% في 27 أكتوبر ليصل إلى أدنى مستوى له خلال عام.
  • الحكومة تعتزم اقتراض 20 مليار دولار من خلال طرح سندات دولية بعملات أجنبية متنوعة حتى عام 2022، وتعتزم إصدار سندات دولية خلال العام المالي الحالي. ويأتي هذا في الوقت الذي وضعت فيه الحكومة سقفا للاقتراض الخارجي عند 16.7 مليار دولار للعام المالي 2018/2019.
  • لا تزال مصر الوجهة الأكثر جاذبية للاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر في أفريقيا خلال النصف الأول من 2018، إذ ارتفع إجمالي الاستثمارات المباشرة المتدفقة إليها 24% بالمقارنة مع نفس الفترة من العام الماضي، وفقا لتقرير مراقبة اتجاهات الاستثمار الصادر عن مجلس التجارة والتنمية التابع للأمم المتحدة (الأونكتاد).
  • سوديك تعتزم التقدم بعرض إجباري لشراء 51% على الأقل من “مدينة نصر للإسكان” عن طريق مبادلة الأسهم.

أموالك

ينتشر أسلوب الغذاء النباتي، ولكنه يتركز بين الأغنياء.
تبني أسلوب حياة نباتي يعد رفاهية، إذ قالت مجلة الإيكونوميست إن اتباع أسلوب غذاء نباتي يشهد ازدهارا في جميع أنحاء العالم، ولكن يبدو أنه أكثر تركزاً بين الأغنياء. وأضافت أن العديد من المطاعم والجهات المصنعة للأغذية تعمل على أن تكون مواكبة لانتشار أنظمة الحمية الغذائية الخالية من المنتجات الحيوانية، والتي ثُبت علمياً أنها أفضل لصحة الإنسان وأقل ضررا على البيئة الطبيعية لكوكب الأرض. ومع ذلك، فإن أسلوب الحياة هذا يرتبط بشكل وثيق بالبلدان الأكثر ثراءً على نطاق أوسع، والتي يكون من السهل لها الوصول إلى المنتجات النباتية وقد لبت ما يكفي من احتياجاتها الأساسية لكي يمكنها التفكير في مشكلات مثل البيئة ورعاية الحيوانات. وقالت المجلة أيضا إن هناك أيضا عددا متزايدا من الأشخاص الذين يتصفون بالمرونة في هذا الشأن بحيث أنهم يتناوبون بين العادات الغذائية النباتية وتلك التي تحتوي على منتجات حيوانية، وهو ما يأتي استجابة لمتطلبات الصحة الشخصية، وأيضا صحة البيئة ورفاهية الحيوانات.

الأضرار التي يتسبب بها تلوث الهواء.. بالأرقام. كم تبلغ التكلفة التي يتحملها العالم بسبب تلوث الهواء؟ تسببت الوفيات المبكرة الناجمة عن تلوث الهواء في تحمل الاقتصاد العالمي نحو 225 مليار دولار، كان سببها الوفيات الناتجة عن هذا التلوث، وفقاً لدراسة أجراها البنك الدولي لعام 2016. وقالت الدراسة إن ذلك المبلغ يقترب من حجم الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للهند، وكندا، والمكسيك مجتمعين، مضيفة أنه على الرغم من أن هذا الرقم صادم، فإنه لا يحتسب التكلفة المتزايدة للرعاية الصحية التي يتم الحاجة إليها لمعالجة الأمراض ذات الصلة بالتلوث، أو التكلفة الخاصة بمعالجة التأثير على النظم البيئية الطبيعية.

ويكون التأثير شديدا في البلدان النامية على وجه الخصوص، حيث مخاطر الصحية أكبر: يتسبب تلوث الهواء في التسبب في الأمراض والوفاة المبكرة، وهو بذلك يقلل من جودة الحياة، كما أنه أيضا يتسبب في فقدان العمالة المنتجة، مما يقلل من دخول تلك البلدان. ويمكن أن يكون لتلوث الهواء تأثير دائم على الإنتاجية بطرق أخرى أيضا، كأن يتسبب في توقف نمو النباتات وتقليل إنتاجية الزراعة، وجعل المدن أقل جاذبية للعمال الموهوبين، وبالتالي تقليل القدرة التنافسية للمدن. وتشير الدراسة أيضا إلى أن المواطنين في الدول الفقيرة يعيشون ويعملون في المناطق الملوثة، فيما تتناقص لديهم احتمالية امتلاك الأدوات اللازمة للحماية من التلوث.

أناقتك

سوق الأجهزة القابلة للارتداء: أدوات رياضية معززة بالتكنولوجيا
. يبدو أن فوائد التكنولوجيا القابلة للارتداء ستكون جامة ولا حصر لها، بدءا من الساعات الذكية التي يمكن أن تجري المدفوعات بدون اتصال وحتى خوذات متسابقي الدراجات والتي يمكن أن تتصفح الإنترنت. ومن المتوقع أن يتضاعف حجم تلك السوق بحلول عام 2021 وأن يتم شحن 125.5 مليون جهاز في جميع أنحاء العالم، وفقا للدراسة التي تناولتها مجلة فوربس. وتتوقع الدراسة أن يوجد في المستقبل مساعدين رقمين، وتشابك خلوي، والاتصال بالأنظمة الأكبر، سواء في المنزل أو في العمل.

أفضل الساعات والأحذية الذكية: تشهد الساعات الذكية، والتي تعتبر أكثر المنتجات شعبية في الأسواق، تطورا يوما بعد يوم، وذلك مع وجود العشرات، إن لم يكن المئات، من العلامات التجارية المنافسة، والتي يمكنكم الاطلاع عليها من خلال التقرير الذي نشره موقع Tech Radar. هناك فئة أخرى تشهد اهتماما متناميا، وهي “الأحذية الذكية”. يمكن الآن للعدائين وأصحاب الإعاقات البصرية الاختيار من بين مجموعة واسعة من الأحذية حسنة المظهر والمدمج بها أجهزة كمبيوتر يمكنها تتبع الأداء والسرعة، وشحن الأجهزة، وقياس المسافة، وتوفير نظام الملاحة GPS بدون استخدام الأيدي. ويمكنكم التحقق من أفضل 5 أحذية تم تقييمها بواسطة موقع الرياضة ISPO.

هذه النشرة اليومية تقوم بإصدارها شركة انتربرايز فنشرز لإعداد وتطوير المحتوى الإلكتروني (شركة ذات مسئولية محدودة – سجل تجاري رقم 83594).

الملخصات الإخبارية والمحتويات الواردة بنشرة «انتربرايز» معروضة للاطلاع فقط، ولا ينبغي اتخاذ أية قرارات جوهرية دون الرجوع إلى مصدر الخبر بلغته الأصلية. كما أن محتويات النشرة تقدم “كما هي – دون استقطاع”، ولا تتحمل الشركة أو أي من العاملين لديها أو أية مسئولية تجاه دقة أو صلاحية البيانات الواردة بالنشرة باعتبارها ملخصات إخبارية.2021 Enterprise Ventures LLC ©

نشرة «إنتربرايز» الإخبارية تأتيكم برعاية «المجموعة المالية هيرميس»، شركة الخدمات المالية الرائدة في الأسواق الناشئة والمبتدئة (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 385-178-200)، «سوديك»، شركة التطوير العقاري المصرية الرائدة (رقم التسجيل الضريبي:002-168-212)، و«سوما باي»، شريكنا لعطلات البحر الأحمر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 300-903-204)، و«إنفنيتي»، المتخصصة في حلول الطاقة المتجددة للمدن والمصانع والمنازل في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 359-939-474)، و«سيرا»، رواد تقديم خدمات التعليم قبل الجامعي والجامعي بالقطاع الخاص في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 608-069-200)، و«أوراسكوم كونستراكشون»، رائدة مشروعات البنية التحتية في مصر وخارجها(رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 806-988-229)، و«اتصالات مصر»، مزودة خدمات الاتصالات الرائدة في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 579-071-235)، و«أبو عوف»، شركة المنتجات الغذائية الصحية الرائدة في مصر والمنطقة (رقم التسجيل الضريبي 846-628-584).

Friday, 2 November 2018

Your health is your wealth

The Beginning

Your Wealth is a custom Enterprise briefing for people just like you: Executives, entrepreneurs and builders who know that time isn’t money, but that time and money are feedstock for the one thing that matters most in life: Your family, however you define it.

Once a month, in partnership with our friends at CIB Wealth, we’ll bring you a hand-picked selection of ideas, tips and inspirational stories that will help you make the most of your time, enhance your wealth, and build a better life with the people you love.

As always, we love hearing from readers. Send us story ideas, hints, tips or interview suggestions to editorial@enterprise.press.

Your Life

It’s the sniffles season, and it’s making us here at Enterprise very health conscious on everything from weight, to dieting and exercise through to mental health. The more we read on the subject, the stark reality of healthy living requiring an almost fanatical commitment started to set in, and with it some morose feelings. These are some of the stories that might just be motivational enough to push us to towards the path of light.

How to think about exercise: That fear and guilt you are feeling now over having to be reminded that you have to visit the gym is very likely what’s stopping you from going there. We all know exercise is good for us, but that mental barrier yet of knowing how painful and exerting it is is holding us back. That’s author Damon Young’s view in How to Think About Exercise. In it, he argues that the problem boils down to a mindset that separates the mind and the body. “At work, we are minds. In the gym, we are bodies.” The book questions this dichotomy by emphasizing that a workout is in fact an intellectual activity. It points readers to the notion that exercise is a chance to educate both our minds and bodies at once.

Separating mind and body: The problem is not that we do not exercise. In fact, people are now becoming more active and health conscious than ever. The real problem, as Young points out, is dualism. “Dualism is a philosophy which sees the world divided into flesh and soul, body and mind, matter and spirit,” he says. This makes many view fitness as purely mechanical, overlooking its true benefits. We also tend to think of intellectual “nerds” as sedentary and of active “jocks” as stupid.

Brains versus brawn: this duality needs to be overcome, otherwise there cannot be lasting motivation to make exercise a lifelong companion. The author cites big ideas from ancient and modern philosophy to support his claims that working out can go a long way to develop both the physical and ethereal. Ideas including the following:

  • Friedrich Nietzsche (a profound exaggeration): “Only thoughts conceived while walking have any value.”
  • Charles Darwin used to walk for hours daily over his famous ‘Sandwalk’ thinking path and this played a key role in the theory of Evolution (watch, runtime: 2:30).
  • The ancient Greeks: Exercise develops virtues (such as consistency and humility) and leads to pleasures (the post workout buzz), alongside hard bodies.
  • Another great Greek lesson: As we define and tone our bodies, so do we create a more defined version of ourselves.
  • Again, a famous Greek called ‘Plato’: “The ideal city features martial arts, games, and dance training for its citizens.” Plato used to wrestle and was known by his wrestling nickname “Platon.”
  • And the takeaway: “Don’t leave your mind behind when you do exercise.” And when you do exercise, try to do so for the experience itself.

You can watch the author’s recap of the book here (runtime: 18:28).

… Which brings us to that money you squandered on a gym membership only to end up showing up once or twice. You would have probably figured out by now that this wasn’t a winning motivational strategy. Or maybe it did, at first, and you actually did commit for a while. But sooner or later the routine became overwhelming and the lack of progress offputting. This is but one of many reasons you should consider cancelling your gym membership now. After you’ve done so, pat yourself on the back and start thinking about the simple and readily available ways to integrate exercise into your daily life.

If you have a desk job, we recommend you start with the basics. Take the stairs if possible, or park as far away as you can but within reason. You can set an alarm every hour to remind yourself to stand up, or invest in an Apple Watch to help track your steps. If you really want to be creative, leave something important behind in your car to force yourself to get it. Go the extra mile and use a bathroom on another floor or building. Verywell Fit has rounded up all this, with a few extra tips. The Washington Post’s infographics department has also tested 12 exercises for a week to see which ones real people could slide into a workday.

Body by naggers. If you have someone at home nagging you about the chores, this could be an opportunity to kill two birds with one stone. Turn your vacuuming into a chance to engage in walking lunges. Spend a good deal of time cooking? Sounds like a perfect opportunity for rear-end lifts, with a calf raise or two for when it’s time for the dishes. A couple of squats while picking up items to fold from a laundry basket placed on the floor work just as well at home. Reader’s Digest has the full list of evolved household chores and WebMD has put together a list of 15 ‘sneaky’ exercises to liven up your day.

Mind over delicious, sweet, and artery-clogging matter: On to the nutritional portion of publication. And instead of guilting you into avoiding delicious, but unhealthy food, we’re going to discuss how to trick your mind into eating right. It’s not an easy task, as we are biologically inclined to like food that is bad for us. Foods like chocolate trigger a release of endorphins (the body’s natural happiness drug), while carbohydrates are known to control serotonin, which can promote positive social interactions. Although indulging in a chocolate bar here and there can make you feel fuzzy on the inside, the real key to a sustainable good mood is a healthy, balanced diet. “A healthy diet that is good for your overall health can also help to prevent symptoms of depression and anxiety. When you are feeling well, you may find it easier to stick to a healthy diet, which will in turn help you to continue to feel well,” according to the Better Health channel.

The way your food is presented can help you come to grips with the idea of steering clear of pasta for the foreseeable future. People are generally more likely to enjoy the taste of their food if it is presented in an attractive manner, suggesting that food presentation can be an important tool in increasing the acceptance of healthy food, according to a study by researchers from Montclair State University and the Culinary Institute of America.

Eating salads on a regular basis will also be easier if you have some tasty recipes on hand to ensure you don’t have to resort to the same boring bowl of leafy greens every night of the week. A few of our favorite recipes include these grilled sesame chicken and eggplant and Cobb salads from the New York Times or this collection from Martha Stewart, which includes everything from soups to main courses to healthier takes on favorite desserts.

If you make one change to your diet, let it be cutting out sugar. Although it is not classified as a dangerous narcotic, sugar has many of the characteristics of a drug: it alters the consumer’s mood, has long-term detrimental effects on health, and creates a sort of dependence that leaves us wanting another “dose,” Gary Taubes writes for the Guardian. “Historians have often considered the sugar-as-a-drug metaphor to be an apt one. “‘That sugars, particularly highly refined sucrose, produce peculiar physiological effects is well known,’ wrote Sidney Mintz … But these effects are neither as visible nor as long-lasting as those of alcohol or caffeinated drinks, ‘the first of which can trigger rapid changes in respiration heartbeat, skin colour and so on’.”

Giving up sugar for just one month a year can help calibrate your baseline intake and force you to adopt healthier habits that can become more permanent, says the New York Times’ David Leonhardt. “The unpleasant parts of a month without sugar are temporary, and they’re tolerable. Some of the benefits continue long after the month is over.”

Why should you be building a mental health-friendly workplace? If you are business owner, it is the only sustainable way to grow. More and more people are taking days off due to mental illness as opposed to physical illness, according to Forbes. On the macro level, the impact of mental health on the global economy is USD 1 tn in lost productivity, with over 300 mn people suffering from depression, according to data from the World Health Organization. So if you’re looking to run a sustainable business, we suggest you pay attention to your employees’ mental health and provide them with the support and help they need.

But you don’t have to wait for the boss to take action. There are simple and effective steps that can help you remain sane in whatever highly demanding career you chose 10 years ago and now (only slightly) regret. These include:

  • Do you. “Me time” is essential for your mental health (and will also ensure you don’t kill any of your colleagues). A little hint: If you never ask for vacation, you’ll never take time off. If you’re waiting on your manager to offer you time off, we suggest you stop waiting.
  • Ask for help if your mental health is hampering your ability to carry on your work duties and communicate if its causes are work-related. Data has shown that 3 out of 5 employees have at some point suffered from mental health issues because of work.
  • Promote mental health awareness so that your employees feel it’s a safe environment to discuss the issue and combat any remaining stigma around it.
  • Don’t sit at the office all day – five minutes out in the sun can go a long way. If you have the time to browse Facebook, we’re sure you can make time to stick your head out in the sun and get some fresh air every now and then.
  • Develop support mechanisms within the company or outside to help your struggling employees overcome their issues.
  • Read our special Your Wealth issue on burnout.

It all won’t matter if you are not sleeping 6-8 hours a day: It doesn’t matter how fit you are, how healthy you eat or how well you manage your stress, if you don’t have 6-8 hours of uninterrupted sleep—the effects will be very adverse to your health. This is one thing that needs commitment regardless of level of work. A group of researchers from Ludwig-Maximilian University studied the sleep-wake patterns of more than 65,000 people and results showed our own bodies’ clocks are much better way to tell us when we need to wake up, rather than all those maddening alarms, according to Nautilus. The study found that when our sleep rhythm is disrupted by our “social clocks,” be it an alarm for school, work, or even just a noisy household, it can lead to various imbalances and diseases including digestion problems, Alzheimer’s, and even cancer.

But is there such a thing as too much sleep? You’re shaky. You can’t see straight and you sure can’t keep your eyes, or mind, focused on that screen in front of you. But you got enough sleep. In fact, you got more than enough. As it turns out, oversleeping exists and it too is a problem. Last year, researchers collected data from over 10,000 participants to capture their sleeping habits and found that people who slept more than 6-8 hours were equally impaired as those who slept too little, the study said, according to New Atlas. “The research revealed a reliable U-shaped curve in deficits associated with reasoning and verbal abilities corresponding with sleep duration, illustrating more than eight hours sleep was just as damaging as less than six hours.”

Enjoy a healthy meal, go for a run or a swim at a 15% discount in Palm Hills Club 6th of October: There’s no time like the present to start living healthy. And with a luxury sports center, Olympic class pools, and a diverse assortment of cuisines, there is no place to do it like the Palm Hills Club 6th of October. CIB Wealth has partnered with the club to offer CIB Wealth customers a 15% discount on membership fees on their Platinum debit card. Customers can also pay their fees in installments over two years, interest-free.

Your top 5

These are the five most important business and economy stories out of Egypt in October:

  • Egypt’s fall and winter IPO season crashed to a halt after three private sector companies and the state privatization postpone share sales and new listings.
  • The EGX30 fell 3.6% on 27 October to its lowest level in over a year.
  • Egypt will borrow USD 20 bn in FCY-denominated bonds through to 2022, with plans this FY for a eurobond issuance. This comes as Egypt caps borrowing in FY2018-19 at USD 16.7 bn.
  • Egypt was the most attractive destination for foreign direct investment in Africa in 1H2018, with the total inflow up 24% compared to 1H2017, according to UNCTAD.
  • SODIC intends to make a mandatory tender offer to acquire at least 51% of Madinet Nasr Housing and Development (MNHD) through a direct share swap.

Your Money

Going vegan is a luxury: The adoption of a vegan lifestyle is booming across the world, but it seems to be more concentrated among the rich, according to the Economist. Many restaurants and food manufacturers are keeping up with the transition to the spread of diets devoid of animal products, which are scientifically proven to be better for people’s health and less taxing on the planet’s natural environment. However, the lifestyle is more widely espoused by richer countries, which may have easier access to vegan products and have met enough of their basic needs to think about concerns such as the environment and animal welfare. There is also a growing number of “flexitarians,” or people who alternate between veganism and omnivorous eating habits “In rich countries, people become flexitarians as a response to three concerns: their own health; the health of the environment; and the welfare of animals.”

How much is air pollution costing the world? Premature deaths resulting from air pollution cost the global economy some USD 225 bn in lost labor income in 2013 alone, according to a 2016 World Bank study (pdf). “That is about the size of the gross domestic product of India, Canada, and Mexico combined — and a sobering wake-up call.” Although it is already stark, this figure does not account for the increased cost of healthcare to address pollution-related illnesses, or the impact on natural ecosystems, for example.

In developing countries especially, the impact is severe, where the health risk is greatest and development is hindered: “By causing illness and premature death, air pollution reduces the quality of life. By causing a loss of productive labor, it also reduces incomes in these countries. Air pollution can have a lasting effect on productivity in other ways as well — for example, by stunting plant growth and reducing the productivity of agriculture, and by making cities less attractive to talented workers, thereby reducing cities’ competitiveness.” Citizens in poorer countries are also more likely to live and work in polluted areas, and are less likely to have the tools to shield themselves from exposure to pollution, notes the study.

Your Style

The ever expanding market of wearable tech: From smartwatches that can make contactless payments to cyclist helmets that can surf the internet, it can seem as though the possibilities emerging from wearable tech are endless. The growing wearables market leaves us with no shortage of options. The market is expected to double in size by 2021 and to see 125.5 mn devices shipped across the globe, according to study cited in a piece by Paul Lamkin for Forbes. “Expect digital assistants, cellular connectivity, and connections to larger systems, both at home and at work.”

Best smart watches and shoes: Smart watches, the market’s most popular products, are evolving day by day, with dozens, if not hundreds, of competing brands, which you can peruse courtesy of Tech Radar. Another growing category is that of “smart shoes.” Runners and visually impaired people can now choose from a wide array of shoes that look good and have built in computers that can track performance and pace, charge devices, measure distance, and provide hands-free GPS navigation. You can check out the top 5 devices rated by sports site ISPO.

Enterprise is a daily publication of Enterprise Ventures LLC, an Egyptian limited liability company (commercial register 83594), and a subsidiary of Inktank Communications. Summaries are intended for guidance only and are provided on an as-is basis; kindly refer to the source article in its original language prior to undertaking any action. Neither Enterprise Ventures nor its staff assume any responsibility or liability for the accuracy of the information contained in this publication, whether in the form of summaries or analysis. © 2021 Enterprise Ventures LLC.

Enterprise is available without charge thanks to the generous support of EFG Hermes (tax ID: 200-178-385), the leading financial services corporation in frontier emerging markets; SODIC (tax ID: 212-168-002), a leading Egyptian real estate developer; SomaBay (tax ID: 204-903-300), our Red Sea holiday partner; Infinity (tax ID: 474-939-359), the ultimate way to power cities, industries, and homes directly from nature right here in Egypt; CIRA (tax ID: 200-069-608), the leading providers of K-12 and higher level education in Egypt; Orascom Construction (tax ID: 229-988-806), the leading construction and engineering company building infrastructure in Egypt and abroad; and Etisalat Misr (tax ID: 235-071-579), the leading telecoms provider in Egypt; and Abu Auf (tax ID: 584-628-846), the leading health foodmaker in Egypt and the region.