الجمعة, 6 أبريل 2018

لا شيء مثل الأجازة الطويلة

نقدم لك: ثروتك

ثروتك هو موجز من إنتربرايز مخصص لك: لقيادات الشركات ورواد الأعمال والمطورين العقاريين الذين يعرفون أن الوقت لا يعني المال، ولكن الوقت والمال مواد أولية للأمور الأهم في الحياة وعلى رأسها عائلتك.

مرة واحدة في كل شهر، بالشراكة مع أصدقائنا في قطاع إدارة الثروات بالبنك التجاري الدولي CIB Wealth، سنقدم لك مجموعة مختارة من الأفكار والنصائح والقصص الملهمة، والتي ستساعدك على الاستفادة من وقتك بالقدر الأكبر، وتحسين ثروتك، وبناء حياة أفضل مع من تحب.

وكما هو الحال دائما، يسعدنا الاستماع إلى قرائنا. أرسل لنا أفكار لقصص، أو ملحوظات، أو نصائح، أو اقتراحات، على البريد الإلكتروني editorial@enterprise.press.

حياتك

أخيرا جاء شم النسيم. لمن يبحث عن إجازة سريعة خارج البلاد، اختارت ناشيونال جيوجرافك لك قائمة بـ 14 وجهة لقضاء عطلتك المقبلة. يمكنك زيارة المدن الكولومبية المزينة بالورود للاحتفال بالربيع، أو اللحاق بموسم تفتح أزهار الكرز في اليابان. ويمكنك التمتع بالطقس البارد في مدينة سفالبارد النرويجية والتجديف وسط الجبال الجليدية. وإذا أردت أن تبقى قريبا، فإن زيارة المغرب فكرة رائعة دائما، وخاصة المدينة الزرقاء شفشاون.

من الأفضل دائما أن تحتفظ بصور عطلاتك لدى”أبل”: إذا كنت تبحث عن مساحة لتخزين صور عطلتك، فلا تبحث بعيدا عن “أبل”. ويرى جون باتريك بولين في مقاله بمجلة تايم أن أفضل منتج تقدمه الشركة هو الخصوصية التي تحمي بها بيانات مستخدميها. وأضاف “على الرغم من مزايا التخزين اللا نهائية التي يوفرها عمالقة التكنولوجيا مثل جوجل وأمازون، فإنني ألجأ دائما إلى حفظ البيانات الأكثر أهمية لدى أبل”.

يتلخص جوهر هذه القضية في نماذج الأعمال المختلفة لشركات التكنولوجيا الكبرى، والتي تواجه أزمة في الآونة الأخيرة بسبب الاتهامات الموجهة لفيسبوك باختراق الخصوصية واستغلال بيانات المستخدمين. أبل التي يعتمد نموذج أرباحها على بيع أجهزة أعلى سعرا ولا يعتمد على تحقيق أرباح من بيانات المستخدمين، لديها التزام راسخ بالخصوصية، بل إنها وقفت في مواجهة مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي الأمريكي قبل عامين بشأن تلك المسألة. جوجل تبيع أجهزة وتبيع إعلانات. أمازون تحاول استخدام أدواتها لإغرائك من أجل شراء المزيد. أما فيسبوك التي لا تبيع لك أي شيء، فإنك إذا فكرت قليلا ستكتشف أنك أنت شخصيا وبياناتك هي المنتجات التي تبيعها الشركة.

وعن حياتك الإلكترونية أيضا، ربما يكون هذا هو التطبيق المثالي بالنسبة لك، حسبما كتب ديفيد بيرس في وول ستريت جورنال. تطبيق Notion لتنظيم أنشطتك وأعمالك على الإنترنت، هو مكان واحد تضع فيه كل الأشياء التي تحفظها عادة على الإنترنت، مثل أرقام حساباتك، وملخصات اجتماعاتك، وقائمة أعمالك، وأرقام الهواتف، والمسودات. “يجمع تطبيق Notion العديد من أفضل الخصائص الموجودة في Google Docs وExcel وDropbox. ويتضمن التطبيق أيضا الكثير من الأدوات التنظيمية ويقوم بإدارة الكثير من المهام”. ولكن النسخة المجانية من التطبيق تقوم بمهام محدودة، ويكلفك الاستخدام الكثيف 8 دولارات شهريا. ويرى بيرس أن التطبيق يستحق هذا المبلغ تماما، إذ سيوفر عليك دفع مبالغ أخرى في الكثير من التطبيقات المتخصصة.

في دور العرض المصرية الآن: الهوس بنوستالجيا الثمانينات تجسد بقوة في هذا الفيلم “Ready Player One“، الذي يمثل عودة تألق أهم مخرجي الثمانينات ستيفن سبيلبرج. يحقق أحدث أفلامه Ready Player One الذي ينتمي لأفلام الخيال العلمي أعلى الإيرادات في شباك التذاكر عالميا، وحقق في دور العرض بأمريكا الشمالية 53.2 مليون دولار في أربعة أيام فقط خلال إجازات عيد الفصح، كما حقق 128 مليون دولار خارجها، ليثبت أن الحنين لفترة الثمانينات ما زالت لها قيمة تجارية قوية.

مثل أفلام الثمانينات الرائعة يدور Ready Player One في ديستوبيا تحدث في المستقبل، حيث تتحرك شخصيات الفيلم الرئيسية في عالم من الواقع التخيلي، يشبه عالم الثمانينات. هناك مشهد مثير داخل فندق فيلم The Shining الشهير، وتحارب إحدى الشخصيات روبوت من السلسلة اليابانية الشهيرة Gundam، كما تهاجم الدمية تشانكي من سلسلة أفلام Child’s Play الأشرار في الفيلم، حسبما كتب بيتر سبليندوريو في صحيفة نيويورك ديلي نيوز. ويقود البطل أيضا سيارة ديلورين مثل التي كانت في فيلم Back to the Future وفي أحد المشاهد نجده يرتدى السترة الجلدية الحمراء التي ارتداها مايكل جاكسون في فيديو أغنية Thriller.

لماذا الهوس بهذا الفيلم الآن؟ يقول خبراء الثقافة الشعبية إن الأمر كله يتعلق بتوقيت عرض الفيلم. يصبح لدينا حنين لفترة زمنية ما بعد مرور من 15 إلى 30 سنة على انتهائها، حسبما يعتقد روبرت تومسون أستاذ الثقافة الشعبية بجامعة سيراكيوس. الذين نشأوا في تلك الحقبة هم من يصنعون الأفلام الآن. عقد الثمانينات أيضا له سمة خاصة وهو أنه العقد الأخير الذي كانت فيه الثقافة الشعبية موحدة وواسعة الانتشار و”مفروضة” على الجميع، قبل أن تأتي مرحلة قنوات الكابل ثم الإنترنت لتنقسم الثقافة الشعبية.

وحتى وإن لم تكن من المهتمين بفترة الثمانينات، فإن Ready Player One جدير بالمشاهدة. يمكنك قراءة مراجعة هوليوود ريبورتر للفيلم من هنا.

القهوة تسبب السرطان؟ رجاء لا تقل ذلك، هل هناك شيء اليوم لم يقولوا إنه يسبب السرطان؟ باعتبار أن القهوة هي وقودنا هنا في إنتربرايز، كان هذا هو رد فعلنا عندما سمعنا أن محكمة في ولاية كاليفورنيا قررت أن تصاحب الدعاية لمنتجات القهوة تحذيرا من أنها تسبب السرطان. الأكريلاميد وهي مادة كيميائية تتكون عند تحميص حبوب القهوة اعتبرتها ولاية كاليفورنيا مادة مسرطنة منذ عام 1990. مجلس التعليم والبحث في السموم الذي رفع الدعوى القضائية، قال بأن ستاربكس و90 شركة أخرى لا تحذر عملائها من أن تناولهم للقهوة يعرضهم للأكريلاميد. وتبحث الشركات الطعن على القرار، وفق ما ذكرته نيويورك تايمز. وبينما نتفق على ضرورة التعامل بشفافية مع المستهلك من وجهة نظر أخلاقية، نتبع مقولة “الجهل نعمة” مع أي تحذيرات قد تحرمنا من شرب القهوة.

العديد من الشركات اليوم تسمح لكثير من موظفيها بالعمل عن بعد. البعض مثل شركات التقنية تسعى لخلق ثورة في العمل من المكتب، والبعض الآخر تخلى تماما عن المكاتب لصالح العمل عن بعد لسبب أو لآخر. ولمن يشجعون هذا الاتجاه (ومن بينهم نحن في إنتربرايز، إذا كنت تفضل العمل بعيدا عن المكتب ندعوك للعمل معنا)، فإن تطوير ثقافة العمل عن بعد بات أمرا حتميا. قام تطبيق “سلاك” للمحادثة بين زملاء العمل بنشر تقرير عن الطرق التي تستخدمها شركة حلول سداد أقساط الطلبة Student Loan Hero لخلق ثقافة للعمل عن بعد. وتشمل الطرق التي استخدمتها الشركة، القيام بأنشطة خارج إطار العمل مع الموظفين مثل الرحلات، إجراء اجتماعات أسبوعية، الدردشة في موضوعات لا تتعلق بالعمل، إطلاق نشرة داخلية عن الكتب التي توصي الشركة بقرائتها.

أهم 5 أخبار خلال شهر مارس:

وقتك

أحصل على خدمات CIB Wealth Concierge​ وتمتع بالوقت اللازم لقراءة كتابك المفضل

ساعات عمل طويلة وقضاء وقت مع العائلة ومتطلبات حياة اجتماعية صحية ومحاولات غير مجدية للتمتع بمظهر حسن يعني أنه لن يكون هناك وقت كاف للقيام بشيء تحبه مثل قراءة كتب جديدة. يتيح لنا تطبيق “Blinkist” الوقت الكافي للقراءة. وتقوم فكرة التطبيق على تلخيص أهم ما جاء في الكتاب في فقرات تستغرق قراءتها دقيقة أو دقيقتين على الأكثر. ومن خلال هذا التطبيق يمكنك قراءة كتاب كامل في 15 دقيقة، وفقا لما ذكره موقع “تيك كرانش”. ويقول مؤسس التطبيق،” نعتقد أن Blinkist بمثابة رابط بين وجود الكتاب من عدمه. هناك دائما حالة سينبغي عليك فيها الذهاب لشراء الكتاب. ولكن هناك طريقة الآن تتيح لك بعض الوقت لقراءة أفضل الكتب”.

وبالحديث عن توفير الوقت: يقدم البنك التجاري الدولي خدمة CIB Wealth Concierge والمصممة خصيصا لتوفير الوقت، فإذا كنت تحتاج المساعدة في قضاء مصالحك اليومية أو حجز تذاكر السفر أو التأكد من وجود مائدة محجوزة باسمك في المطعم الذي تختاره، الخدمة المقدمة من التجاري الدولي ستوفر عنك ذلك العناء. ستوفر باقة الخدمات الفريدة التي تقدمها شركة Les Concierge  Egypt لعملاء CIB Wealth تجربة مميزة وحصرية لإنجاز العديد من الخدمات بكفاءة عالية، والتي تشمل:

  • ​الدعم الخاص لأداء مجموعة متنوعة من المصالح والخدمات الحكومية
  • خدمة دفع الفواتير
  • خدمة حجز مواعيد مع الأطباء
  • خدمات السفر
  • قضاء المشاوير والمصالح اليومية
  • إدارة المنزل
  • حجوزات المطاعم
  • خدمات التسوق
  • العناية بالسيارات
  • ​خدمات VIP

يمكنك أيضا أن تمضي وقتك في مشاهدة التلفزيون بدلا من القراءة: إذا كنت ممن يحبذون الجلوس بالمنزل والاستمتاع بمشاهدة التلفزيون ربما يكون أبريل هو الشهر المناسب لذلك الأمر مع مجموعة من العروض المميزة أولها مسلسل “Westworld” والذي ستُذاع أولى حلقاته في 22 أبريل الجاري. وهناك أيضا الموسم الثاني من مسلسل “Handmaids Tale” الحائز على جائزة “إيمي”. وهناك قائمة أخرى من العروض المميزة يمكنك التعرف عليها من خلال هذا الرابط.

أموالك

احسب تكاليف اليوم المميز في حياتك: موسم الزفاف على الأبواب، ولكنه موسم ينتشر فيه الخوف بين الأزواج والسبب لا يبدو في الغالب التخوف من الحياة الجديدة التي تتسم بالالتزام ولكنه على الأرجح تكلفة يوم الزفاف. فتكلفة الزفاف في ارتفاع مطرد حول العالم. وبلغ متوسط تكلفة ليلة الزفاف في بريطانيا خلال 2017 نحو 27.161 ألف جنيه إسترليني. وفي مصر، التكلفة أعلى من ذلك بكثير، إذ تبلغ تكلفة الليلة عند الطبقة المتوسطة ما بين 600 ألف جنيه ونحو مليون جنيه. وحتى بين الطبقات الفقيرة في المجتمع المصري قد تصل تكلفة الليلة إلى نحو 150 ألف جنيه. ولعل هذا قد يعطي تفسيرا حول وجود نحو 13.6 مليون شخص فوق سن الثامنة عشر دون زواج، وفقا لبيانات الجهاز المركزي للتعبئة العامة والإحصاء.

ما هي الأسباب وراء هذا الأمر؟ ربما السبب الأكبر في ارتفاع تكاليف ليلة الزفاف هو العادات والتقاليد. العرسان وعوائلهم يجب عليهم التأكد من أن عش الزوجية مفروش على أكمل وجه. هناك أيضا الشبكة التي قد تبلغ قيمتها نحو 3 آلاف دولار. أضف إلى ذلك المهر الذي يقدمه العريس لعروسه والذي قد يصل إلى 50 ألف جنيه. كل تلك الأمور قبيل ليلة الزفاف والتي نتباهى بها أمام أقاربنا ربما لم نعرفهم أو تشاهدهم من قبل وسنراهم فقط في تلك الليلة. ويبدو أن الدولة لديها خلفية جيدة حول هذا الأمر لدرجة أن هناك مشروع قانون في مجلس النواب لمنح قرض للمقبلين على الزواج تبلغ قيمته نحو 60 ألف جنيه دون فوائد يسدد على 12 عاما.

هل ينبغي أن تستمر الأمور على هذا المنوال؟ الإجابة باختصار.. لا. يمكنك بكل بساطة التخلي عن بعض العادات المرهقة. بالنسبة للنفقات الأخرى، يقول تقرير نشرته شبكة “سي إن بي سي” إن المقبلين على الزواج يبحثون عن إتمام الحدث بعيدا عن موسم الذروة ما بين مايو وأكتوبر لتوفير النفقات. وسيكون الأفضل هنا فصل الشتاء والذي تتمثل مخاطره في سوء الأحوال الجوية وعزوف بعض المدعوين عن الحضور وهي أمور قد لا تمثل مشكلة على الإطلاق.

عائلتك

ما هي العوامل التربوية التي تؤثر في نشأة الفتيات وتساعدهن على شغل مناصب قيادية هامة؟ في مقابلة مع صحيفة نيويورك تايمز، قالت أدينا فريدمان رئيسة بورصة ناسداك الأمريكية إن الأم التي لديها مهنة، والتعلم في مدرسة للفتيات، من أهم تلك العوامل. وسلطت فريدمان بعض الضوء على حياتها العائلية وكيف أن نشأتها في وسط تلك الأجواء ساهمت في أن تصبح الآن في منصب تنفيذي مرموق بوول ستريت. وتحدثت فريدمان تحديدا حول تحول والدتها من ربة منزل لم تكمل دراستها الجامعية إلى أول امرأة شريكة في مكتب المحاماة الذي عملت به. وأضافت: “أسهم هذا الأمر في تكويني، أن أرى كيف أنها تمكنت من أن تحول مسار حياتها”. وقالت فريدمان أيضا إن التعلم بمدرسة للفتيات كان له دورا مهما أيضا، وتابعت: “كان هذا الأمر جزءا مهما للغاية بالنسبة لي وفي نشأتي، إذ كنت وسط بيئة يتم الاحتفاء فيها بالذكاء، وكانوا يتحدثون دوما عن أقصى ما يمكن تحقيقه في حياتك”.

جيل الألفية الأكثر تقديرا للعطلات العائلية: أصبح جيل الألفية أخيرا في سن يقدرون فيها العطلات التي يقضونها مع عائلاتهم. وأظهر مسح أجراه موقع “AAA Travel” بالولايات المتحدة أن 44% من إجمالي 88 مليون شخص يخططون لقضاء عطلات مع عائلاتهم ينتمون إلى جيل الألفية، بالمقارنة مع 39% للجيل من مواليد الفترة من أوائل الستينات إلى أوائل الثمانينات، و32% لجيل طفرة المواليد، الممتد من منتصف الأربعينات وحتى منتصف الستينات. وقال بيل سازرلاند، نائب رئيس مؤسسة “AAA“: “وكما هو الأمر مع الأجيال السابقة له، فإن جيل الألفية يرون العطلات العائلية كأحد أفضل الطرق لتكوين الذكريات وإعادة التواصل مع من يحبونهم”. ويفضل العديد من المنتمين لجيل الألفية قضاء العطلات على شواطئ المكسيك وجاميكا أو زيارة المعالم الثقافية في إيطاليا.

أناقتك

إقبال كبير على شراء الملابس المستعملة: لم تتخلص الملابس المستعملة من سمعتها السيئة فحسب، ولكنها أصبحت بمثابة الاتجاه السائد في عالم الملابس، وفقا لتقرير صادر عن موقع متجر الملابس المستعملة “ThredUp“. وقال التقرير إن 44 مليون سيدة قامت بشراء ملابس مستعملة العام الماضي، بزيادة قدرها 9 ملايين سيدة مقارنة بعام 2016. وأضاف أن متوسط معدل النمو السنوي لقطاع الملابس المستعملة بلغ 15%، في حين أن متوسط معدل نمو تجارة التجزئة للملابس بلغ 2%. ومن المتوقع أن يتضاعف حجم أعمال بيع الملابس المستعملة ليصل إلى 41 مليار دولار خلال خمس سنوات بالمقارنة مع 20 مليار دولار حاليا. وقالت مجلة فوربس إن الذي يحفز نمو سوق الملابس المستعملة هو الرغبة في الحصول على منتجات بأسعار منخفضة.

هذه النشرة اليومية تقوم بإصدارها شركة انتربرايز فنشرز لإعداد وتطوير المحتوى الإلكتروني (شركة ذات مسئولية محدودة – سجل تجاري رقم 83594).

الملخصات الإخبارية والمحتويات الواردة بنشرة «انتربرايز» معروضة للاطلاع فقط، ولا ينبغي اتخاذ أية قرارات جوهرية دون الرجوع إلى مصدر الخبر بلغته الأصلية. كما أن محتويات النشرة تقدم “كما هي – دون استقطاع”، ولا تتحمل الشركة أو أي من العاملين لديها أو أية مسئولية تجاه دقة أو صلاحية البيانات الواردة بالنشرة باعتبارها ملخصات إخبارية.2021 Enterprise Ventures LLC ©

نشرة «إنتربرايز» الإخبارية تأتيكم برعاية «المجموعة المالية هيرميس»، شركة الخدمات المالية الرائدة في الأسواق الناشئة والمبتدئة (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 385-178-200)، «سوديك»، شركة التطوير العقاري المصرية الرائدة (رقم التسجيل الضريبي:002-168-212)، و«سوما باي»، شريكنا لعطلات البحر الأحمر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 300-903-204)، و«إنفنيتي»، المتخصصة في حلول الطاقة المتجددة للمدن والمصانع والمنازل في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 359-939-474)، و«سيرا»، رواد تقديم خدمات التعليم قبل الجامعي والجامعي بالقطاع الخاص في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 608-069-200)، و«أوراسكوم كونستراكشون»، رائدة مشروعات البنية التحتية في مصر وخارجها(رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 806-988-229)، و«اتصالات مصر»، مزودة خدمات الاتصالات الرائدة في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 579-071-235)، و«أبو عوف»، شركة المنتجات الغذائية الصحية الرائدة في مصر والمنطقة (رقم التسجيل الضريبي 846-628-584).

Friday, 6 April 2018

Thank God for the Long Weekend

The Beginning

Your Wealth is a custom Enterprise briefing for people just like you: Executives, entrepreneurs and builders who know that time isn’t money, but that time and money are feedstock for the one thing that matters most in life: Your family, however you define it.

Once a month, in partnership with our friends at CIB Wealth, we’ll bring you a hand-picked selection of ideas, tips and inspirational stories that will help you make the most of your time, enhance our wealth, and build a better life with the people you love.

As always, we love hearing from readers. Send us story ideas, hints, tips or interview suggestions to editorial@enterprise.press

Your Life

Sham El Niseem. Sham El Niseem. Thank God Almighty, it’s Sham El Niseem. For those looking for ideas beyond the typical Hurghada, Sokhna and Dahab, National Geographic has its list of top 14 destinations for the best Spring vacations. For those who already have vacation plans, you snooze, you lose. Those in the mood for a flowery springtime destination must consider the beautiful Colombian flower towns to catch Japan’s cherry blossom trees bloom. Those who felt jilted by Egypt’s winter should checkout Norway’s Svalbard for some iceberg kayaking. A little closer to home, you can never count on a bad trip to Morocco’s blue city of Chefchaouen.

Why Apple is the only place you should store those vacation pics: If you’re looking for the place to store all those photos from the break, then look no further than Apple, which John Patrick Pullen argues is the best product Apple has to offer in a piece in Time Magazine. “Despite all the bottomless storage features offered by tech giants like Google and Amazon, I default to keeping my most valuable data with Apple,” he says.

The crux of the issue boils down to the differing business models of the big tech companies — who have been catching heavy flak lately over privacy and exploiting user data. Apple, whose revenue model relies on premium-priced gadgets and electronics and doesn’t charge for data, has a longstanding commitment to privacy. It even faced off with the FBI last year on the issue. Google sells devices and ads. Amazon tries to use its gadgets to lure into buying more, when they’re not spying on you, that is. As for Facebook, which doesn’t sell its users anything at all, your prized photos themselves are the product.

As for the rest of your digital life, we may have just found the killer app, courtesy of the Wall Street Journal’s David Pierce. Notion, the life organizing app, is a one stop shop that keeps all the stuff you usually have stored all over the internet, such as account numbers, meeting notes, to-do lists, contact information, and drafts. “Notion combines many of the best features of Google Docs, Excel and Dropbox, along with lots of task-management and organizational tools,” says Pierce. While program does have a limited free tier, and costs USD 8 a month for heavy use. Pierce says that it is worth it, since it saves you from paying for all those other specialized ones.

At the Movies: 1980’s nostalgia craze got its biggest single boost, with the return to form of the greatest 80s movie director of all time, Steven Spielberg. His newest sci-fi flick Ready Player One is already blazing a trail through the box office. The current number 1 movie made USD 53.2 mn in North America over the four-day Easter holidays, and USD 128 mn overseas, proving that the commercial viability of 80’s nostalgia is still rolling strong.

The film — set like any good 80s film in a dystopian future — has the main characters trying to navigate a virtual reality world, which might as well be called 80s World. There’s “an intense scene inside the hotel from “The Shining,” a character fighting as a robot from the Japanese franchise Gundam and Chucky from the “Child’s Play” movies attacking bad guys,” writes Peter Sblendorio for NY Daily News. “[The protagonist] also drives a DeLorean like the one in “Back to the Future” and at one point slips into the red leather suit Michael Jackson wore in his “Thriller” video.”

Why is this obsession happening now? Pop culture experts say it’s all about timing. We grow fond of decades usually 15-30 years after they end, Robert Thompson, a pop culture professor at the University of Syracuse says. Those who grew up in that era are the ones making movies now. 1980’s themselves were also special as they were the last decade where pop culture was widely shared and “forced.” Cable TV and the internet fragmented pop culture.

Even if you’re not an 80’s buff and just stuck in Cairo for the break, Ready Player One should be worth seeing. You can check out the Hollywood Reporter’s review here.

Say it ain’t so — Coffee causes cancer? Is nothing safe anymore? As the fuel that runs Enterprise, those were our thoughts exactly when we heard that a California court ruled that coffee ought to be branded with cancer warning labels. Acrylamide, a chemical formed when coffee beans are roasted, had been recognized as a carcinogen by California since 1990. The Council for Education and Research on Toxics, the party poopers who filed the suit, charged that Starbucks and 90 other companies did not warn consumers that ingesting coffee would expose them to acrylamide. The companies are considering fighting the decision, according to the NYT. While we do agree with consumer transparency on a moral principle, in this case, we’re willing to go with the “ignorance is bliss” argument.

This is a must read for companies that allow employees to work remotely: As some companies (we’re looking at you, tech) look to revolutionize the office space, others are doing away with an offices altogether in favor of working remotely for some reason or another. For those that do (including us here at Enterprise — and if that interests you, please come work for us) developing a corporate culture outside the office is an imperative. Messaging app Slack is profiling the ways studen loan repayment solutions company Student Loan Hero are using to create corporate culture remotely. These include corporate retreats, weekly meetings, randomized chatting with co-workers, and an internal newsletter on books the company recommends.

Your top 5 for March

The five most important business and economy stories out of Egypt in March 2018 (and the first week of April, too):

  • President Abdel Fattah El Sisi was re-elected for a second term, winning 97.08% of the vote.
  • The central bank cut rates by another 100 bps on the last Thursday of March after inflation rates dropped to 14.4% in February, from 17.1% a month earlier, and ahead of central bank expectations.
  • 23 state-owned companies will IPO or list additional shares on the EGX, the government announced, offering around 15-30% stakes in each. In the private sector, Carbon Holdings tapped a top investment banking house to advise on its IPO, which is set to be the largest in Egypt since 2011.
  • The Administrative Court ordered suspending the licenses for ride-hailing apps Uber and Careem following a case filed by 42 taxi drivers seeking to shut down the platforms’ operations. Both companies appealed the decision.
  • Egypt could become a member of OPEC after 2019, Oil Minister Tarek El Molla told Bloomberg in an interview earlier in March.

Your Time

Long working hours, spending time with family, the requirements for a healthy social life, and often futile attempts to stay in shape mean that we have less time to do something we truly love: reading new books. The app Blinkist helped us get more reading time — sort of. “The basic idea of Blinkist is to take the best of new nonfiction and condense it into pieces just a minute or two long, with entire books summed up in a series of these “blinks” totaling 15 minutes or so,” as Techcrunch explains. Blinkist’s founders are aware they are not replacing book, with co-founder Niklas Jansen saying “we think of Blinkist as the bridge between no book and the book. There’s always a case why you should go on and buy the full book afterwards. Now, if only there was a way we could get more time to read some of the best fiction works out there…

Speaking of saving time, CIB Wealth is setting the industry standard here in Egypt for delivering personalized experiences designed with its clients in mind. They’ve partnered with Les Concierges Egypt to bring a host of exclusive personal concierge services, whether you need help getting errands checked off your to-do list, assistance booking a business flight, or a hassle-free way to make dinner reservations. The experience provided by the CIB Wealth Concierge Services gives CIB Wealth clients exclusive, efficient, and immediate access to round-the-clock tailored services such as:

  • Assistance with government services
  • Bill payments
  • Doctor referrals and appointments
  • Travel services
  • Errands
  • Home care
  • Dining reservations
  • Personal shopping
  • Auto care

For those who would much rather zonk out in front of the home entertainment system and kill brain cells, then April is the month for you. There are three reasons. The first is Westworld, which will premiere on 22 April. There’s Westworld (see reason one). And for the bronze, there’s the second season of the Handmaid’s Tale — the ever creepy Emmy-award winning dystopia. The verge has a list of some pretty interesting trailers for some other shows coming out.

Your Money

Counting the costs of that “one special day”: Wedding season is upon us. And for many of the happy couples out there, it’s the season of jitters — and it’s not because of commitment fears. Costs of getting married have continued to rise globally. In the UK, couples in 2017 spent an average of GBP 27,161 for that one special day. In Egypt, the costs are far greater. The numbers vary, but from we’re seeing an urban middle-income couple could plurge see costs reach between EGP 600k to well over EGP 1 mn. Even in Egypt’s poorer rural communities, expenses can get as high as EGP 150k. It is perhaps not surprising that 13.6 mn Egyptians over the age 18 are unmarried, according to the CAPMAS 2017 census.

Why is it that bad? Beyond inflation and unemployment, probably the biggest driver of these costs is tradition. Grooms and their families have to make sure an apartment is ready and furnished. There’s also the dreaded Shabka, which at around USD 3,000 is giving plenty of men the cold sweats. Dowries can get up to EGP 50,000. And that’s before the actual wedding itself, which we pride ourselves for making it an extravagant affair, with relatives you’ve never heard of coming out of the woodwork. The state appears to have recognized that it has gotten so bad that there’s a bill floating in parliament to setup a fund to offer couples USD 3,400 in interest-free loans payable in 12.5 years.

Does it have to be this way? Short answer — not really. You can forgo with some of the cumbersome traditions. For the other expenses, CNBC says couples are increasingly looking to marry in the off season to save on costs. With popular wedding dates running between May and October, it perhaps worth looking at alternative dates. Risks that come with it include bad weather and shorter guest list — which may not be a problem at all.

Your Family

What does it take to raise a daughter who’ll end up being a high-powered CEO? A career-driven mother, and an all-girls school helps, says Nasdaq CEO Adena Friedman. In an interview in the New York Times, Friedman sheds some light on how her home life growing up helped turn her into a high powered woman in Wall Street. She singles out her mother’s transformation from a college-dropout stay at home mom to the first female partner at her law firm as being a pivotal point. “It was a formative thing for me, to see how she transformed herself.” Being in all-girls school played an important part as well. “It was a really important part of me growing up, being in an environment where being smart was celebrated. They constantly talked about going as far as you can go in your life.”

Millenials are finally old enough to forget those dreaded family vacations of their childhoods and are even starting to appreciate them. In the US, 44% of some 88 mn planning family vacations are millenials, more than members of Generation X (39%) or baby boomers (32%), according to a survey by AAA Travel. “Just like generations before them, millennials see a family vacation as one of the best ways to create memories and reconnect with loved ones,” said Bill Sutherland, AAA senior vice president. Their favorite spots run the gambit of exotic beach locales in Mexico and Jamaica to the cultural destinations of Italy.

Your Style

Second hand clothes have not only shed their grimy reputation — they’re actually going mainstream, according to a recent report by from second hand clothes retailer ThredUp. Last year, 44 mn women shopped second hand (which they fondly call resale), up 9 mn from 2016. The average annual growth rate for the segment is 15%, far higher than the 2% for average clothing retail. The second hand business is projected to double to USD 41 bn in five years from USD 20 bn. And it goes beyond simple affordability, which is already offered by off-price retailers. It appears the thrill of the treasure hunt for that gem item at affordable prices is what’s driving the growth, according to Forbes.

Enterprise is a daily publication of Enterprise Ventures LLC, an Egyptian limited liability company (commercial register 83594), and a subsidiary of Inktank Communications. Summaries are intended for guidance only and are provided on an as-is basis; kindly refer to the source article in its original language prior to undertaking any action. Neither Enterprise Ventures nor its staff assume any responsibility or liability for the accuracy of the information contained in this publication, whether in the form of summaries or analysis. © 2021 Enterprise Ventures LLC.

Enterprise is available without charge thanks to the generous support of Commercial International Bank (tax ID: 204-891-949), the largest private-sector bank in Egypt; EFG Hermes (tax ID: 200-178-385), the leading financial services corporation in frontier emerging markets; SODIC (tax ID: 212-168-002), a leading Egyptian real estate developer; SomaBay (tax ID: 204-903-300), our Red Sea holiday partner; Infinity (tax ID: 474-939-359), the ultimate way to power cities, industries, and homes directly from nature right here in Egypt; CIRA (tax ID: 200-069-608), the leading providers of K-12 and higher level education in Egypt; Orascom Construction (tax ID: 229-988-806), the leading construction and engineering company building infrastructure in Egypt and abroad; and Act Financial (tax ID: 493-924-612), the leading activist investor in Egypt; and Abu Auf (tax ID: 584-628-846), the leading health foodmaker in Egypt and the region.