الجمعة, 6 يوليو 2018

العودة إلى المعمعة


نقدم لك: ثروتك

ثروتك هو موجز من إنتربرايز مخصص لك: لقيادات الشركات ورواد الأعمال والمطورين العقاريين الذين يعرفون أن الوقت لا يعني المال، ولكن الوقت والمال مواد أولية للأمور الأهم في الحياة وعلى رأسها عائلتك.

مرة واحدة في كل شهر، بالشراكة مع أصدقائنا في قطاع إدارة الثروات بالبنك التجاري الدولي CIB Wealth، سنقدم لك مجموعة مختارة من الأفكار والنصائح والقصص الملهمة، والتي ستساعدك على الاستفادة من وقتك بالقدر الأكبر، وتحسين ثروتك، وبناء حياة أفضل مع من تحب.

وكما هو الحال دائما، يسعدنا الاستماع إلى قرائنا. أرسل لنا أفكار لقصص، أو ملحوظات، أو نصائح، أو اقتراحات، على البريد الإلكتروني editorial@enterprise.press.

حياتك

العودة إلى المعمعة: بعد انتهاء شهر رمضان الذي قضيناه وسط عدد من الموجات الحارة، لم تكن إجازة عيد الفطر كافية للتخلص من ضغوط العمل خلال الشهر الكريم، ولكن جاء كأس العالم ليعوضنا عن كل شيء. ها قد عدنا إلى معمعة العمل، ونعد الأيام انتظارا لعيد الأضحى بعد نحو شهر ونصف الشهر من الآن. وبعد ذلك لن تزيد العطلات الرسمية عن يوم واحد كل شهر. نحاول فيما يلي التفكير في كيفية التوازن بين العمل وحياتك الشخصية بأقل قدر ممكن من الإرهاق.

وسط هذا الإرهاق، نجد أنفسنا مشغولين بمسألة التوازن بين العمل والحياة الشخصية، وهي الفكرة الأساسية في نشرة “ثروتك” بالكامل، والتي نطرحها بشكل موسع في عدد اليوم.

تحية للجنود المجهولين العاملين في نوبات عمل ليلية: نود أن نبدأ بتكريم هؤلاء الشجعان (والمجانين نوعا ما) الذين يستطيعون تحمل العمل خلال الساعات المتأخرة من الليل. من واقع تجربتنا، فإن هؤلاء لا يلقون التقدير الملائم في أغلب الأحيان، لأنهم يعملون في الظل، بعيدا عن نشاط العمل النهاري. وبينما نحن نقدر بشدة تضحيات العاملين ليلا، ضع في اعتبارك: قلة النوم قد تكون قاتلة أكثر من الجوع والعطش.

بالفعل، العمل ليلا قد يكون قاتلا: نشر الباحثون في جامعة نورثويسترن وجامعة ساري دراسة في دورية “كرونوبايولوجي إنترناشونال” حول تبعات النوم المتأخر، أو أولئك الذين ينامون بعد منتصف الليل. ووجدت الدراسة التي تتبعت 433 ألف شخص بالولايات المتحدة على مدار ستة أعوام ونصف العام، أن الأشخاص الذين يعرفون أنفسهم بـ “الكائنات الليلية” ترتفع احتمالية تعرضهم لخطر الوفاة مبكرا بنسبة 10% مقارنة بهؤلاء الذين ينامون في ساعات مبكرة من الليل. وأظهرت الدراسة صحة تلك النسب في كل المراحل العمرية التي شهدتها الدراسة، وكذلك بالنسبة للرجال والنساء. وكشفت الدراسة أيضا أن الأشخاص الليليين ترتفع احتمالية تعرضهم لأمراض القلب، والسكري، وأمراض الجهاز التنفسي، ومشاكل الجهاز الهضمي، والضغوط النفسية، وفق ما ذكره موقع فوكس.

خلاصة القول “عندما تكون ساعتنا البيولوجية مختلفة عن المجتمع من حولنا، تتأثر أجهزتنا الحيوية بالكامل، العديد من جوانب حياتنا تصبح أكثر إرهاقا. السهر لوقت متأخر جدا من الليل ومن الساعات الأولى من الصباح يجعلنا نعيش دائما في حالة مشابهة لاضطراب الرحلات الجوية الطويلة، والتي تؤثر سلبا على الجسم”. وكانت منظمة الصحة العالمية قد ذكرت في عام 2007 إن تأثير العمل الليلي على صحة الإنسان يماثل احتمالية الإصابة بالسرطان. ناهيك عن انهيار الحياة الاجتماعية وفقدان التواصل مع الأصدقاء والمقربين.

ورغم ذلك يتزايد عدد الأشخاص الذين يعملون ليلا: أشار تقرير نشرته فايننشال تايمز إلى أن “عدد العاملين ليلا يتزايد، مع سعي شركات القطاع الاستهلاكي في تقديم خدماتها على مدار الـ 24 ساعة، كما يسعى المصنعون إلى تحقيق أكبر استفادة من الاستثمار في مصانعهم”. وشهدت بريطانيا زيادة عدد العاملين في النوبات الليلية بأكثر من 250 ألف موظف في السنوات الخمس الأخيرة.

كل ما يمكنك فعله عزيزي العامل ليلا هو أن تنام عددا كافيا من الساعات، كما تذكر هذه المدونة التي تعطينا بعض النصائح
لتقليل العوامل السلبية للعمل ليلا. النصيحة الأبرز أيضا هي الحفاظ على الأكل الصحي، إذ أن العمل الليلي يجعلك أكثر عرضة للبدانة ولخيارات الطعام السيئة. والنصيحة الأخرى هي التأكد من أن بيئة غرفة نومك تساعد على النوم جيدا. ناهيك عن التأكد من الاسترخاء قبل النوم. أما أهم نصيحة فهي ألا تغير نظام نومك في أيام الإجازة، مهما كان ذلك مغريا لك. إذا فعلت ذلك، ستكون قد عبثت بالساعة الداخلية لجسمك في أول أيام العمل في الأسبوع التالي، وستجد نفسك مرهقا في وقت العمل ومتيقظا في وقت النوم. لذا يجب أن تحافظ على مواعيد محددة للنوم والاستيقاظ طوال أيام الأسبوع.

حياة الموظف المستقل قد تكون أكثر ملائمة لك: العمل لساعات محددة نهارا أو ليلا قد يكون ضاغطا. العمل الحر إذا كان يتم بشكل سليم، سيكون مربحا لك ويحررك من قيود العمل الصارمة. يعطينا خبير التوظيف المستقل جايمس ساورز 10 نصائح عملية تماما من أجل النجاح كموظف مستقل. بالطبع أنت تعرف معظم تلك النصائح، كأن تعمل دائما بعقد محدد، وأن تحصل على دفعة مقدمة من أتعابك، وأن تحافظ على أخلاقيات مهنتك.

الأمر المثير للاهتمام في نصائح ساورز، هو أنه يشجع الموظفين المستقلين في مختلف المهن على الكتابة. ويقول “الكتابة هي المدخل كي تثبت اسمك في هذا المجال، وتجعل العملاء يصلون إليك، وأن تنمي نفسك على المستوى الشخصي والعملي”. وحث ساورز الموظفين المستقلين على القيام بذلك مهما كانوا خجولين من قدراتهم في الكتابة، مؤكدا أن الأمر يتحسن مع التدريب.

النصيحة المفضلة بالنسبة لنا: لا تخجل أبدا من قول “لا”.

يستند النجاح في عالم الشركات إلى تحقيق إنجازات في جو تنافسي للغاية، ومع ذلك فإن الضغوطات التي تأتي مع تلك الإنجازات غالبا ما تضر بالشركات نفسها. اللا مبالاة، الملل، الإرهاق، والروح المعنوية المنخفضة، كلها أشياء قد تكون قاتلة لأي مؤسسة. والإحصائيات تُظهر أن أولئك الذين يجدون صعوبات في التعامل مع ضغوطات العمل ليسوا مجرد نسبة صغيرة من أي مؤسسة، وكشفت استطلاع عن العمل والصحة أعدته الإذاعة الوطنية الأمريكية أن 44% من العاملين بالولايات المتحدة يقولون إن وظيفتهم الحالية تؤثر على صحتهم. وقالت نسبة متساوية ممن شاركوا في الاستطلاع إن وظائفهم أثرت بالسلب على عائلتهم وحياتهم الاجتماعية، وكذلك على نظامهم الغذائي، كما تصيبهم بالتوتر.

وإلى أن يتجاوز البشر ثقافة عبودية الشركات، يحتاج المرء إلى التحكم في ضغوطات العمل. ونشر موقع لايف كارير دليلا لكيفية إدارة ضغوطات العمل وتحجيمها قدر الإمكان. وليست مفاجأة أن يكون التوازن بين الحياة الشخصية والعمل ضمن أهم تلك النصائح.

إذا كانت الضغوطات أمرا تريد التخلص منه كليا مع الحفاظ على راتبك في نهاية كل شهر، يقدم لك موقع IFLScience قائمة بـ 43 مهنة في الولايات المتحدة يحظى أصحابها برواتب مرتفعة مع معدل توتر منخفض. وتقارن القائمة بين الراتب السنوي ومتطلبات الوظيفة، ومستوى الضغط الذي تسببه. الراتب الأعلى في القائمة لعلماء الفيزياء بمتوسط راتب سنوي يبلغ 118.830 ألف دولار، ولكن مع معدل توتر فوق المتوسط يبلغ 61 من 100. ووفقا للقائمة فإن الوظيفة التي تحظى بمتوسط راتب مرتفع مع معدل توتر منخفض نسبيا هي وظيفة عالم الاستشعار عن بعد والذي يصل متوسط راتب السنوي إلى 103.990 ألف دولار مع معدل توتر 52 من 100، وللحصول على هذه الوظيفة يجب على الأغلب أن تكون حاملا لشهادة الماجستير أو الدكتوراه.

صحتك هي كل شيء: بالنسبة لأولئك الذين لديهم وظائف مكتبية وأسلوب حياة متعلق بالعمل يتطلب الجلوس لفترات طويلة، فيجب أن يعلموا أن أمامهم مخاطر صحية حقيقية. ولحسن الحظ نحن نعيش في عالم يتسم بالوعي الصحي بشكل كبير، وذلك مع وجود الكثير من الأشخاص الذين لديهم ما يقولونه حول هذا الموضوع. توفر المواقع الصحية، مثل MD Monthly والمدونة الصحية بموقع USA News، مزيجا من بعض التمرينات والنظام الغذائي الصحي. ومعظم النصائح الشائعة في قسم التمرينات تتمثل في أخذ استراحات صغيرة للقيام ببعض التمرينات، والمشي لبعض الوقت، والابتعاد قليلا عن العمل. وستساعدك الوجبات الخفيفة الصحية على تجنب الانغماس مع زملاء العمل الذين ليس لديهم وعي صحي أثناء تناول الغداء.

يقدم موقع Tech Insider فيديو تعليمي مخصص لممارسة تمرينات فعالة مدتها سبع دقائق، والتي تتراوح من عمليات الضغط والجري في المكان. (شاهد 8:31 دقيقة)

نصائح خاصة بإعداد الوجبات: نأمل أن تقرأ هذا بالقرب من شيء يمكن أن تأكله. تقدم مدونة Girl on Bloor وصفات لإعداد الوجبات للأشخاص المشغولين، والتي وجدناها شهية للغاية. تقدم المدونة الفوائد الإضافية من إعداد الوجبات، وتشمل توفير الوقت والمال، والحد من الإجهاد.

احصل على التوازن بين العمل والحياة الخاصة بك مع خدمة CIB Wealth Concierge: وضعت CIB Wealth، بالشراكة مع شركة Les Concierges Egypt، المعايير الخاصة بتقديم خبرات شخصية مصممة لتوفير الوقت والجهد مع وضع عملائها في الاعتبار. تمنح خدمات CIB Wealth Concierge لعملاء CIB Wealth إمكانية الوصول الحصرية والفعالة والفورية إلى الخدمات المصممة خصيصا على مدار الساعة – سواء كنت بحاجة إلى المساعدة في التحقق من المهمات المنجزة في قائمة المهام الخاصة بك أو المساعدة في حجز رحلة عمل أو حجز العشاء من دون متاعب. وفي واقع الأمر، قامت خدمة CIB Wealth Concierge بالتغلب على المشكلة القديمة المتمثلة في تحقيق التوازن بين العمل والحياة الشخصية.

أهم 5 أخبار خلال شهر يونيو

فيما يلي أهم خمسة أخبار متعلقة بالأعمال والاقتصاد بمصر في يونيو والأسبوع الأول من يوليو الجاري:

  • تكليف مصطفى مدبولي وزير الإسكان بمنصب رئيس مجلس الوزراء وتغيير 12 وزيرا في حكومته الجديدة.
  • زيادة أسعار الوقود بنسبة 50%، وأسعار المياه بنسب تصل إلى 46.5%، وأسعار الكهرباء بمتوسط 21% للمنازل وأكثر من 40% للمصانع.
  • قررت لجنة السياسة النقدية التابعة للبنك المركزي الإبقاء على أسعار الفائدة الرئيسية دون تغيير، وذلك ردا على قرار الحكومة الأخير بخفض الدعم.
  • يدرس مجلس النواب فرض ضرائب على إعلانات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ضمن حملة أوسع من قبل وزارة المالية لفرض المزيد من الضرائب وضريبة القيمة المضافة.
  • وقعت شركة كربون القابضة مع هيئة قناة السويس عقد إنشاء مجمع التحرير للبتروكيماويات بقيمة 10.9 مليار دولار.

وقتك

داخل عقل شخص يميل للتسويف: هناك العديد منا لا تعجبهم عروض TED. لكن هذه المحاضرة تمنحك نظرة ثاقبة في أذهان الأشخاص الذين يميلون للتسويف، وقدم المحاضرة المدون تيم أوربان والذي يقدم التعليقات حول عادات المسوفين وأسباب التسويف. (شاهد 14:04 دقيقة)

أموالك

كيف تدير أموالك كموظف مستقل؟ كلما نظرنا في هذه المسألة، ازداد استغراقنا في حياة الموظف المستقل. إننا لا يمكننا أن ننفي حقيقة أننا نحب الدخل الثابت، والمعاشات التقاعدية، والتأمين، إلخ. ويمكنك أن تنسى كل ذلك إذا كنت موظف مستقل. وعلاوة على ذلك، فأنت تعتمد على ذاتك، لذلك يمكنك إدارة أموالك والتأكد من أنك قمت بالادخار من أجل المواسم التي يقل فيها العمل.

قدمت مجلة “فوربس” ثلاث نصائح مهمة للادخار واستثمار أموالك كموظف مستقل: ولكن فوربس تشير إلى أنه وقبل كل شيء يجب عليك أن تضبط ميزانيتك بشكل جيد، ثم يتعين عليك الانضباط الذاتي. وبافتراض أنك ادخرت ما يكفي لبدء الاستثمار، تنصحك فوربس بالحذر عند التفكير في الاستثمارات قصيرة الأجل، خاصة عندما يكون هناك مديرو أموال لا يمكنهم الانتظار لحثكم على اتباع خطط صغيرة النطاق ولكن تهدف للثراء السريع. وتشير إلى أنه ليس من المتعين عليك تجنب كل ذلك، ولكن فقط تأكد من قيامك بما هو ضروري. وأخيرا، تحث فوربس على النظر في الاستثمارات طويلة الأجل، إذ يوصي بعض المستشارين الماليين بأن يدخر الموظف المستقل ما يصل إلى 10 إلى 12 ضعف ما يحصلونه خلال عام، بينما يقترح آخرون وضع 10% من دخلك في مدخرات طويلة الأجل.

عائلتك

إلى الأمهات العاملات: دعونا نقدم تحية للأمهات العاملات اللواتي يواجهن صعاب في تحقيق التوازن بين العمل وحياتهن الشخصية. أما بالنسبة للأمهات اللاتي لا يعملن فهن يتساءلن كيف يفعلن ذلك. فإلى الأمهات اللاتي يكدحن في كل من العمل والأسرة..نحثكن على البقاء أقوياء وعدم الانزلاق إلى الشعور بالذنب، إذ أن المكافآت لا تقدر بثمن وهي الأطفال.

أظهرت الأبحاث أن بنات الأمهات العاملات يحصلن على وظائف أفضل ورواتب أعلى، وفقا استطلاع شامل أجرته مؤسسة “العمل والتوظيف والمجتمع” حول الأسرة والمهن لأكثر من 100 ألف رجل وامرأة. ووفقا لورقة عمل نشرت عام 2015 من قبل نفس الفريق، فإن بنات الأمهات العاملات في الولايات المتحدة يكسبن بنسبة 23% أعلى من بنات الأمهات اللائي يبقين في المنزل. وفي الـ 25 دولة المتقدمة التي شملها هذا الاستطلاع، حصلت 21% من النساء اللواتي عملت أمهاتهن بوظائف إشرافية، مقارنة بنسبة 18% من النساء اللواتي كانت أمهاتهن ربات منزل، وفقا لما ذكرته “سي إن إن موني“.

الفوائد بالنسبة للأبناء كثيرة أيضا. ومن أمثلة ذلك بيلاوال بوتو زارداري، نجل رئيسة الوزراء الباكستانية بينظير بوتو والتي تم اغتيالها. في افتتاحية صحيفة الجارديان، يتحدث زارداري حول تأثير وجود مثل هذه الأم القوية التي نشأت في عالم السياسة الباكستانية على الرغم من التحيز الجنسي والرجعية بالمجتمع. وقال “لقد أثبتت دون أدنى شك، بحياتها وشجاعتها التي لا تلين، أنه بإمكان النساء بالتأكيد أن يفعلن كل شيء. في حين أن الأقزام السياسيين الذين عارضوها سيكونون في طي النسيان، وستبقى هي في التاريخ كرمز عالمي”.

أناقتك

هل يمكن للموضة أن تساعدك على تحقيق التوازن بين العمل والحياة الشخصية؟ نشرت مجلة Tapered Magazine تقريرا كتبته إيمي هاريس، وتشير فيه إلى أنه يمكن للموضة أن تلعب دورا في مساعدتك على تحقيق التوازن بين العمل والحياة الشخصية. وترى هاريس أن للملابس دورا في إعدادك نفسيا لأي مناسبة.

هذه النشرة اليومية تقوم بإصدارها شركة انتربرايز فنشرز لإعداد وتطوير المحتوى الإلكتروني (شركة ذات مسئولية محدودة – سجل تجاري رقم 83594).

الملخصات الإخبارية والمحتويات الواردة بنشرة «انتربرايز» معروضة للاطلاع فقط، ولا ينبغي اتخاذ أية قرارات جوهرية دون الرجوع إلى مصدر الخبر بلغته الأصلية. كما أن محتويات النشرة تقدم “كما هي – دون استقطاع”، ولا تتحمل الشركة أو أي من العاملين لديها أو أية مسئولية تجاه دقة أو صلاحية البيانات الواردة بالنشرة باعتبارها ملخصات إخبارية.2021 Enterprise Ventures LLC ©

نشرة «إنتربرايز» الإخبارية تأتيكم برعاية «المجموعة المالية هيرميس»، شركة الخدمات المالية الرائدة في الأسواق الناشئة والمبتدئة (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 385-178-200)، «سوديك»، شركة التطوير العقاري المصرية الرائدة (رقم التسجيل الضريبي:002-168-212)، و«سوما باي»، شريكنا لعطلات البحر الأحمر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 300-903-204)، و«إنفنيتي»، المتخصصة في حلول الطاقة المتجددة للمدن والمصانع والمنازل في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 359-939-474)، و«سيرا»، رواد تقديم خدمات التعليم قبل الجامعي والجامعي بالقطاع الخاص في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 608-069-200)، و«أوراسكوم كونستراكشون»، رائدة مشروعات البنية التحتية في مصر وخارجها(رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 806-988-229)، و«اتصالات مصر»، مزودة خدمات الاتصالات الرائدة في مصر (رقم التسجيل الضريبي: 579-071-235)، و«أبو عوف»، شركة المنتجات الغذائية الصحية الرائدة في مصر والمنطقة (رقم التسجيل الضريبي 846-628-584).

Friday, 6 July 2018

It’s back to the grind

The Beginning

Your Wealth is a custom Enterprise briefing for people just like you: Executives, entrepreneurs and builders who know that time isn’t money, but that time and money are feedstock for the one thing that matters most in life: Your family, however you define it.

Once a month, in partnership with our friends at CIB Wealth, we’ll bring you a hand-picked selection of ideas, tips and inspirational stories that will help you make the most of your time, enhance our wealth, and build a better life with the people you love.

As always, we love hearing from readers. Send us story ideas, hints, tips or interview suggestions to editorial@enterprise.press.

Your Life

It’s back to the grind: We had Ramadan, which willingly and contently (some of us, at least) suffered through in the heat. We had the vacation reward, unsatisfyingly short as it is (thanks, World Cup). Unless you’re one of those prudent planners, whom we’re very jealous of. So now it’s back to work, and we already cannot wait until Eid Al Adha rolls around in about a month, bearing in mind that the October holidays are still a long ways away. Here’s to surviving it with minimal burnout.

And with the slog, we find ourselves preoccupied with the problem of work/life balance, the essence of the whole Your Wealth publication. Today’s issue reflects those morose, sobering, and sometimes optimistic musings.

Here’s to the unnamed soldiers — our fond moniker for night shift workers: We’d like to start by honoring the brave and gallant and (understandably) insane workers, who have to drudge on working nights. In our experience, these shadow operators’ work often go unappreciated. And while we seem hyperbolic in our honor of their sacrifice, bear in mind: lack of sleep can kill you faster than starvation.

No joke, working nights is actually deadly: Researchers at Northwestern and the University of Surrey published a study in the journal Chronobiology International looking into the health consequences of being “a later chronotype” — or those going to sleep well after midnight and rising later. The study, which followed 433,000 adults in the UK over a period of 6.5 years, found that night owls had a 10% increased likelihood of dying compared to people who had an earlier chronotype. And this was true for people of all ages in the study, and for both men and women. The analysis also revealed greater rates of cardiovascular disease, diabetes, respiratory disease, gastrointestinal problems, and psychological distress among evening-type people, according to Vox.

The conclusion: “When our biological clock is out of sync with society’s, our whole biology gets thrown off, and many aspects of our lives grow more stressful. Having a very late chronotype is like living in a constant state of jet lag, which takes a toll on the body.” The World Health Organisation identified the effect of night-shift work on the body’s rhythms as a ­possible carcinogen as early as 2007. And that’s not even including the social suicide and losing touch with friends and loved ones.

Yet more lost souls get thrown into the grinder: “The nocturnal workforce seems to be growing, as consumer businesses meet 24-hour demand for their services and manufacturers seek to maximise their investment in factories,” writes Chloe Cornish for the FT. The UK saw the number of night-shift workers rise by more than 250,000 in the past five years.

All you can do, dear night worker, is to sleep better (or move on): To those unfortunate souls who have to work a night shift, we can only wish you luck and offer up the Sleep Talkers blog’s tips on sleeping better for night shift workers. The most obvious of these is to eat healthy, as working nights can make you prone to obesity and bad dietary choices. Another obvious one is to make sure your bedroom environment is conducive to sleep. Not to mention making sure to unwind before bedtime. The most interesting tip? DO NOT switch sleep cycles of the weekend, not matter how tempting that is. “Doing so can interfere with your body’s internal clock that on Mondays, you’ll find yourself tired during your shift and alert when it’s time to sleep. To prevent this, you must be consistent with your sleep-wake schedule.”

A freelancer’s life could be for you: Alternatively, rigid work hours altogether may prove stressful. Done right, it could be lucrative and liberating in a non-bum hippie sense of the word. Professional freelancer James Sowers gives his 10 Insanely Actionable Tips for Successful Freelancing. Most of these are your run of the mill common sense tips — like always use a contract and get a downpayment — or an ethics lesson (being transparent).

What we did find interesting, however, that he encourages freelancers of all professions to take up writing. “Writing is the doorway to getting your name out there, having clients find you, and to truly grow yourself as an individual and freelancer.” He urges freelancers to do it regardless of how shy they are about their writing skills, comforting them with the notion that it gets better with practice.

Personal favorite: Don’t be afraid to say “no”.

It all boils down to job stress: For all the talk about stress, it’s just one of these things that we seem to not be empathetic about in the corporate world. Success rests (no pun intended) on over achievement in a highly competitive atmosphere, yet the stress that comes with it often does harm to organizations. Apathy, boredom, fatigue and low morale can all be killers on an organization. And the stats show that those having difficulty with job stress are not a small portion of an organization. A work and health poll conducted by National Public Radio in the US shows that 44% of US workers say their current job is affecting their health. An almost equal proportion of survey takers said their job had adversely affected their family, social life, health, diet and stress.

Until the corporate slave culture gets thrown to the recesses of time, one needs to get a grip on job stress.Live Career’s manual on managing job stress offers some insight into the little things you could be doing to minimize job stress. Not surprisingly, high on the list is working on that work/life balance.

If stress is something you want to cut out all together and still get paid,IFLSciencehas its list of 43 high paying jobs for people who don’t want stress. The list provides the annual salary and the job stress level and requirements. Bang for buck, the best job on here has to be that of a physicist. Average annual salary: USD 118,830. Stress tolerance (scored out of 100): 61. The caveat: You need a PhD for most research jobs. Transportation equipment electrical and electronics installer and repairer will get you the smallest salary out of the list at USD 60,840 per annum, with a stress tolerance level of 60. All you need is a high school diploma.

Your health is everything: We did not evolve by sitting on benches and preparing reports in clay tablets (that came later). For those with desk jobs and work-related sedentary lifestyle, the health risks are real. Thankfully we live in a very health conscious world, with plenty of people having something to say on the subject. We’re also thankful that they’re almost always the same, so there’s consistency. Health sites, like MD Monthly and USA News’ health blog, offer some combination of movement and a healthy diet. Most common advice in the movement department is to take mini-workout breaks, walk everywhere, and park further from work. Healthy snacks and packed lunches helps you avoid being drawn in with the not so health conscious coworkers during lunch orders.

We would be remiss if we didn’t throw in a workout video: Tech Insider has its instructional video for an efficient seven minute workout, which range from the standard push-ups and sit-ups, to the downright manic, such as the running in place. The workout is shorter than the actual video (watch; runtime: 8:31).

We hope you’re reading this close to something edible: Girl on Bloor blog is offering up meal prep recipes for busy people, which we found absolutely mouth-watering. Looking past the deliciousness of it all (thank you, freezer-friendly breakfast taquitos), the blog runs down the ancillary benefits of meal prep. These include saving time and money, and reducing stress to boot.

Get your work/life balance sorted with CIB Wealth Concierge Service: This common prayer should be familiar to those stressed with dealing with multiple tasks: Please let me have some help with all of this. That’s why CIB Wealth, in partnership with Les Concierges Egypt, is setting the industry standard here in Egypt for delivering personalized experiences designed with its clients in mind. CIB Wealth Concierge Services gives CIB Wealth clients exclusive, efficient, and immediate access to round-the-clock tailored services — whether you need help getting errands checked off your to-do list, assistance booking a business flight, or a hassle-free way to make dinner reservations. In effect, CIB Wealth Concierge Service has cracked the age old problem of a work/life balance so you don’t have to.

Your top 5

The five most important business and economy stories out of Egypt in June and the first week of July 2018:

Your Time

Inside the mind of a master procrastinator: This an old one, we know. And no, many of us here are still not fans of TED talks. But this lecture that gives insight into the mind of procrastinators by Wait But Why (WBW) blogger Tim Urban remains a classic for writers and content creators everywhere. Through YouTube binges, Wikipedia rabbit holes bouts of staring out the window, and doodles, Urban provides gut-busting commentary on the habits of procrastinators and the reasons procrastinators do what they do. It’s relatable, realistic and enjoyable (watch, runtime: 14:04).

Your Money

Seriously, how do these freelancers live? The more we work on this issue, the more we’re increasingly drawn to the life of a freelancer. But we just can’t shake the fact that we like steady income, pension, insurance, etc. you can forget about all that as a freelance worker. Furthermore, you’re on your own, so it is up to you to manage your money and ensure you have some saved for those low seasons where work is dry. Where does one even begin?

Forbes has put out it’s three top tips for saving and investing your money as a freelancer: but before it gets into that, it urges that you MUST have a well-maintained budget. Then there’s the self discipline required to top up and hold on your rainy day fund. Assuming you’ve saved enough to begin investing, the piece advises you to be cautious when considering short-term investments. Especially when there are money managers out there who can’t wait to entice you on smaller scale but get-rich-quick plans. It notes that you don’t have to avoid these all together, just make sure you do the homework. And finally, it encourages looking at long-term investments. Some financial advisers recommend freelancers save up 10-12 times what they make in a year, while other will suggest putting 10% of your income into long-term savings.

Your Family

This issue would not be complete with a salute to the working moms out there, who have the hardest time with work/life balance. Those of us who are not working moms can only sit and wonder about how it is they do it, while passing no judgement on those who cannot take on such a burden. To those toiling away on both a job and a family, we urge you to stay strong and not slip into “mother’s guilt’, as the rewards are priceless where it counts — the children.

That’s because research now shows that daughters of working mothers actually get better jobs and higher salaries, according to an extensive survey by Work, Employment and Society on family and career of more than 100,000 men and women. According to a 2015 working paper from the same team, daughters of working mothers in the US make about 23% more than daughters of stay-at-home mothers. And across the 25 developed countries represented in that survey, 21% of women whose mothers had worked got supervisor jobs, compared to 18% of women who had stay-at-home mothers, according to CNN Money.

The benefits to sons are plenty as well. Don’t take it from us. Just ask Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, son of assassinated Pakistan Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto. In an op ed penned for the Guardian, Zadari relays the impact of having such a powerful mother who rose in Pakistan’s politics despite the sexism and regression of the society. “She proved beyond a doubt, with her life and relentless courage, that women can certainly do everything. While the political pygmies who opposed her will be forgotten, she lives on in history as a global icon.’

Your Style

Can fashion help you with a work/life balance? We thought we’d end this by a little bit of fluff and the esoteric. Tapered Magazine contributor Amy Harris has a piece that fits the bill which suggests that fashion can actually play a part in helping you reach a work/life balance. We can’t say buy into her arguments, but we won’t argue with her point on how the right clothes can help prime your brain for whatever occasion.

Enterprise is a daily publication of Enterprise Ventures LLC, an Egyptian limited liability company (commercial register 83594), and a subsidiary of Inktank Communications. Summaries are intended for guidance only and are provided on an as-is basis; kindly refer to the source article in its original language prior to undertaking any action. Neither Enterprise Ventures nor its staff assume any responsibility or liability for the accuracy of the information contained in this publication, whether in the form of summaries or analysis. © 2021 Enterprise Ventures LLC.

Enterprise is available without charge thanks to the generous support of EFG Hermes (tax ID: 200-178-385), the leading financial services corporation in frontier emerging markets; SODIC (tax ID: 212-168-002), a leading Egyptian real estate developer; SomaBay (tax ID: 204-903-300), our Red Sea holiday partner; Infinity (tax ID: 474-939-359), the ultimate way to power cities, industries, and homes directly from nature right here in Egypt; CIRA (tax ID: 200-069-608), the leading providers of K-12 and higher level education in Egypt; Orascom Construction (tax ID: 229-988-806), the leading construction and engineering company building infrastructure in Egypt and abroad; and Etisalat Misr (tax ID: 235-071-579), the leading telecoms provider in Egypt; and Abu Auf (tax ID: 584-628-846), the leading health foodmaker in Egypt and the region.